North Witham, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to North Witham, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|North Witham, Lincolnshire|
St+Mary North+Witham Lincolnshire
|Poor Law Union||Grantham|
|Parish registers: 1591|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1561|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Lincolnshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
WITHAM (North), a parish, with a village, in Grantham district, Lincoln; on the river Witham; 4¼ miles WSW of Corby r. station, and 9 S of Grantham. Post town, Colsterworth, under Grantham.
North Witham St Mary is an Ancient parish which included within its boundary Lobthorpe.
The church has some surviving Saxon features but is largely a Norman structure built around 1086 with the later addition of a tower and steeple between 1380 and 1410.
Hannah Newton, (born Hannah Ayscough) the mother of Isaac Newton, married Barnabus Smith the Rector of the parish on Tuesday 27 January 1646 in his parish, and during the prohibited period for marriages. She moved to the rectory, staying there until August 1653 when her seventy-one-year-old husband died. Isaac's two half-sisters and half-brother were baptized in the parish, and probably born there. Graffiti accredited to the young physicist can still be seen in several places in and around the church.
WITHAM, NORTH (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Grantham,
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
North Witham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|North Witham Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: email@example.com The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
Search Family History Catalogue Witham, North
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Adapted. Date accessed: 06 September 2013.