Northampton County, North Carolina Genealogy
Guide to Northampton County, North Carolina ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
| ||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
Contents
- 1 County Information
- 2 Resources
- 2.1 Bible Records
- 2.2 Biographies
- 2.3 Business, Commerce, and Occupations
- 2.4 Cemeteries
- 2.5 Census Records
- 2.6 Church Records
- 2.7 Court Records
- 2.8 Directories
- 2.9 Emigration and Immigration
- 2.10 Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups
- 2.11 Funeral Homes
- 2.12 Genealogies
- 2.13 Guardianship
- 2.14 Land and Property Records
- 2.15 Local Histories
- 2.16 Maps and Gazetteers
- 2.17 Migration
- 2.18 Military Records
- 2.19 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 2.20 Newspapers
- 2.21 Obituaries
- 2.22 Other Records
- 2.23 Periodicals
- 2.24 Probate Records
- 2.25 School Records
- 2.26 Social Security Records
- 2.27 Tax Records
- 2.28 Vital Records
- 3 Research Facilities
- 4 Societies
- 5 Websites
- 6 Research Guides
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Northampton County is located in the northeastern portion of North Carolina and shares a border with Virginia. It was named for James Compton, Earl of Northampton.[2]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Northampton County Courthouse
102 W. Jefferson Street
PO Box 120
Jackson, NC 27845
Phone: 252-534-2511
Northampton County Website
Register of Deeds has birth, marriage and death and land records.
Clerk Superior Court has divorce records from 1800, probate and court records from 1761.[3]
Northampton County, North Carolina Record Dates[edit | edit source]
Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.
| Birth* | Marriage | Death* | Court | Land | Probate | Census |
| 1917 | 1811 | 1917 | 1761 | 1741 | 1759 | 1784 |
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
|
Some records are missing. For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
|
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
|
For animated maps illustrating North Carolina county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation North Carolina County Boundary Maps" (1664-1965) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website. |
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]
| Towns | ||
| Unincorporated communities | ||
| Townships | ||
|
|
|
History Timeline[edit | edit source]
Northampton County was formed in 1741 from Bertie County and was named in honor of James Crompton Earl of Northampton, an English nobleman. Located in the northeastern section of the state, it is bounded by the State of Virginia and neighboring North Carolina counties of Halifax, Bertie and Hertford. The Roanoke River determines the southwest boarder of Northampton following its flow from the Roanoke Rapids Lake in the northwestern corner of Northampton County. The Meherrin River marks the northeastern border. The present land area is 536 square miles and the 2003 estimated population was 21,782. Jackson is the seat of Northampton County and is an extremely fertile area along the Roanoke River with cotton, corn and peanuts being its principal crops. The first courthouse was built here in 1742 and was known as Northampton Courthouse; Jackson, NC was incorporated in 1823 and named after Andrew Jackson who was born near the NC/SC line, studied law in Salisbury, NC and later became the seventh President of the United States.
During the Nat Turner slave insurrection of 1831 in the adjoining Southampton County, Virginia, NC militia were mobilized at Jackson, NC in readiness for the anticipated slave uprising that was quelled prior to the militia's intervention. The Northampton County Courthouse was built in 1859 and it is purported that Cornwallis visited a tavern that was located diagonally opposite the Courthouse. Lafayette, the first Frenchman to come to the aid of the American revolutionary cause and whom the United States Congress commissioned a major general of the Continental Army on July 31, 1777 dined in Jackson on his 1825 triumphal visit to North Carolina.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Biographies[edit | edit source]
Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- North Carolina, Historical Records Survey, Cemetery Inscription Card Index at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
| Historical populations | ||
|---|---|---|
| Census | Pop. | %± |
| 1790 | 9,992 | — |
| 1800 | 12,353 | 23.6% |
| 1810 | 13,082 | 5.9% |
| 1820 | 13,242 | 1.2% |
| 1830 | 13,391 | 1.1% |
| 1840 | 13,369 | −0.2% |
| 1850 | 13,335 | −0.3% |
| 1860 | 13,372 | 0.3% |
| 1870 | 14,749 | 10.3% |
| 1880 | 20,032 | 35.8% |
| 1890 | 21,242 | 6.0% |
| 1900 | 21,150 | −0.4% |
| 1910 | 22,323 | 5.5% |
| 1920 | 23,184 | 3.9% |
| 1930 | 27,161 | 17.2% |
| 1940 | 28,299 | 4.2% |
| 1950 | 28,432 | 0.5% |
| 1960 | 26,811 | −5.7% |
| 1970 | 24,009 | −10.5% |
| 1980 | 22,584 | −5.9% |
| 1990 | 20,798 | −7.9% |
| 2000 | 22,086 | 6.2% |
| 2010 | 22,099 | 0.1% |
| Source: "Wikipedia.org". | ||
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- 1700-1970 - North Carolina, Church Records, 1700-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- Northampton County Churches (NCGenWeb)
Baptist
There was a Baptist Church at Potecasi by 1778.[7]
Church of England
- Northwest Parish. Established by 1727.[8]
- St. George's Parish. Established by 1762. Vestry minutes begin 1773.[9]
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court Records[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]
African-American
- 1862-1870 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Assistant Commissioner Records, 1862-1870 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1863-1872 North Carolina, Freedmen's Bureau Field Office Records, 1863-1872 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only
- Civil War Service of Black Troops Born in Northampton County (NCGenWeb)
- Freedmen Bank Records (NCGenWeb)
- Free Black Heads of Family, 1830, Northampton County (NCGenWeb)
- Cohabitation Records. Includes Husbands and Wives listings. (NCGenWeb)
Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]
Genealogies[edit | edit source]
- Twelve Northhampton County, North Carolina Families, 1650-1850: Bridgers, Daughtry, Futrell, Jenkins, Joyner, Lassiter, Martin, Odom, Parker, Stephenson, Sumner, Woodard. By Dozier, Rebecca Leach, Lou Woodard King and Penn Perry. Baltimore, Md.: Gateway Press, 2004. FHL Book 975.649 D2d
- [Binford] Bruner, Mary L. Binford Family Genealogy. Greenfield, Ind.: Wm. Mitchell Printing Co., [1925]. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library
- [Boddie] Leary, Helen F.M. "The Two William Boddies of North Carolina," The American Genealogist, Vol. 66, No. 1 (Jan. 1991):16-29; Vol. 62, No. 2 (Apr. 1991):106-110; Vol. 66, No. 3 (Jul. 1991):148-153. Available at FHL.
Guardianship[edit | edit source]
Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]
- Northampton County Register of Deeds
Thomas Bragg Street
Jasper Eley Annex Building
PO Box 128
Jackson, NC 27845
Phone: 252-534-2511
Real estate records extending back as far as 1741.
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
for more resources
- Northampton County Places Maps and mapping projects using the Google Earth application. (NCGenWeb)
- Northampton County maps from the NC State Archives Digital Maps Collection
- FamilySearch Places:Cities and Towns- How to Use FS Places
Migration[edit | edit source]
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War
- 1779-1782 North Carolina Revolutionary Pay Vouchers 1779-1782 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Civil War
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 North Carolina, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1861-1865 U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1861-1865 U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry
- 1885-1953 North Carolina, Confederate Soldiers and Widows Pension Applications, 1885-1953 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Regiments. Men in Northampton County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Northampton County:
- - Northampton County U.S. Colored Troops
- - 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company N
- - 12th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company O
- - 15th Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, formerly the 5th Volunteers, Company A
- - 1st Brigade, North Carolina Reserves, Company K
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company B
- - 1st Regiment, North Carolina Junior Reserves, Company K
- - 2nd Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry, Company H
- - 3rd Battalion, North Carolina Light Artillery, Company A
- - 3rd Regiment, North Carolina Infantry, Company K
- - 4th Regiment, North Carolina Cavalry (59th North Carolina State Troops), Company K
World War I
- 1917-1919 North Carolina, World War I Service Cards, 1917-1919 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
World War II
- 1940-1948 North Carolina, Discharge and Statement of Service Records, 1940-1948 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Other Records[edit | edit source]
- 1773-1814 Wardens of the Poor, Northampton County, North Carolina, Stephen W. Worrel, Amazon KDP, 2019, 139 pp.
County Records
- 1833-1970 - North Carolina, County Records, 1833-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images. (incomplete)
Voter Registration
- 1868-1898 - North Carolina, Voter Registration Records, 1868-1898 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Online Probate Records
- 1660-1790 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1660-1790 at Ancestry $. Original data: Grimes, John Bryan. Abstracts of North Carolina Wills. Raleigh, NC, USA: North Caroline Department of State, 1910.
- 1663-1979 North Carolina Estate Files, 1663-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images Index and images of estate files from North Carolina counties. The originals were filmed at the North Carolina Department of Archives and History. The estate records contain loose papers relating to the settlement of estates This project was indexed in partnership with the North Carolina Genealogical Society and Library.
- 1665-1998 North Carolina Wills and Probate Records 1665-1998 at Ancestry $. Probate papers from NC counties, with an extensive collection from Northampton. 2015.
- 1720-1960 - Will Books A to F and 1 to 8 (1720-1960) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1735-1970 North Carolina Probate Records 1735-1970 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1741-1961 Will Books A, 1 to 13 (1741-1961) at FamilySearch.org - How to Use this Collection; images only (by County)
- 1760-1792; 1792-1808; 1808-1826;1826-1844 Probate Records - Images of Wills & Estates at North Carolina Pioneers $
- 1760-1800 North Carolina Will Abstracts 1760-1800 at Ancestry $
- Pre-1790 Pre-1790 Northampton County, North Carolina Genealogy Wills (North Carolina State Archives)
- 1833-1970 NC County Records 1833-1970: Estate Records at FamilySearch; indexed images of Northampton Co. Estate Records are included in this Collection.
- Index to Wills, Northampton County. (NCGenWeb)
Probate records, including wills & estate records are handled by the Northampton County Clerk of the Superior Court.
School Records[edit | edit source]
Social Security Records[edit | edit source]
- 1935-2014 United States Social Security Death Index at FamilySearch - How to use this collection; index. Also at Ancestry, findmypast, Fold3, GenealogyBank, MyHeritage, and Steve Morse. Click here for more information.
- 1936-2007 U.S., Social Security Applications and Claims Index, 1936-2007 at Ancestry ($) — index, click here for more information.
Tax Records[edit | edit source]
- 1762 Tax Lists, Northampton County, 1762 (index) in NC Taxpayers at Ancestry $
- 1780 Tax Lists, Northampton County, 1780 (index) in NC Taxpayers vol. 2 at Ancestry $
- 1780 Tax Lists, Northampton County, 1780 (images) at North Carolina Digital Collections
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 - North Carolina, Department of Archives and History, Index to Vital Records, 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1800-2000 North Carolina Birth Index 1800-2000 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1866-1964 North Carolina Births and Christenings 1866-1964 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index
- 1913-1922 North Carolina, Center for Health Statistics, Vital Records Unit, County Birth Records, 1913-1922 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1741-2004 North Carolina, United States Marriages at FindMyPast
- 1741-2004 North Carolina Marriage Index 1741-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1759-1979 North Carolina Marriages 1759-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; Index
- 1762-1979 North Carolina, County Marriages, 1762-1979 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1763-1868 North Carolina, Civil Marriages, 1763-1868 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1847-1867 Northampton County Marriage Bonds 1847-1867 (USGenWeb)
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1898-1994 North Carolina Deaths and Burials, 1898-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1906-1930 North Carolina Deaths 1906-1930 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1908-2004 North Carolina Death Indexes 1908-2004 at Ancestry $
- 1909-1975 North Carolina Death Certificates 1909-1975 at Ancestry $
- 1931-1994 North Carolina Deaths 1931-1994 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
Divorce[edit | edit source]
- 1926-1975 North Carolina, County Divorce Records, 1926-1975 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index and images
- 1958-2004 North Carolina Divorce Index 1958-2004 at Ancestry $
Research Facilities[edit | edit source]
Archives[edit | edit source]
Listed below are archives in Northampton County. For state-wide archival repositories, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
Libraries[edit | edit source]
Listed below are libraries in Northampton County. For state-wide library facilities, see North Carolina Archives and Libraries.
Museums[edit | edit source]
Societies[edit | edit source]
Listed below are societies in Northampton County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see North Carolina Societies.
Websites[edit | edit source]
- USGenWeb Project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog – The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection. Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records.
- NCGenWeb Northampton County
- Northampton County, NCGenWeb Archives
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ https://www.ncpedia.org/geography/Northampton
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Northampton County, North Carolina. Page 511 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Northampton County, North Carolina. Page 506-514 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 505-509.
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), North Carolina.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Northampton County, North Carolina," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northampton_County,_North_Carolina, accessed 23 February 2020.
- ↑ George Washington Paschal, History of North Carolina Baptists, 2 vols. (1930; reprint, Gallatin, Tenn.: Church History Research and Archives, 1990), 1:476. FHL Book 975.6 K2p 1990.
- ↑ Donna Sherron, "North Carolina Parishes," accessed 12 October 2012. Digital version at Lost Souls Genealogy.
- ↑ Robert J. Cain, ed., The Church of England in North Carolina: Documents, 1699-1741 (Raleigh, N.C.: Division of Archives and History, North Carolina Department of Cultural Resources, 1999), 432, 501. FHL Book 975.6 K2cr.
