Northumberland, England Genealogy
|Northumberland Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Northumberland ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
County Information[edit | edit source]
From Wikipedia - Northumberland is a county in the North East of England. The non-metropolitan county of Northumberland borders Cumbria to the west, County Durham to the south and Tyne and Wear to the south east, as well as having a border with the Scottish Borders council area to the north, and nearly eighty miles of North Sea coastline. Since the creation of Tyne and Wear in 1974, the county council has been located in Morpeth, situated in the east of the county; however, both Morpeth and Alnwick claim the title county town.
As the kingdom of Northumbria under King Edwin, the region's historical boundaries stretched from the Humber in the south to the Forth in the north. The historic boundaries of the county cover a different area, including Newcastle upon Tyne, the traditional county town, as well as Tynemouth and other settlements in North Tyneside, areas administered by Tyne and Wear since 1974 under the Local Government Act 1972. The historic boundaries of the county are sometimes taken to exclude Islandshire, Bedlingtonshire and Norhamshire (collectively North Durham), exclaves of County Durham which were incorporated into Northumberland in 1844.
Parishes[edit | edit source]
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Northumberland.
Civil Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Northumberland Resources and help pages on RootsChat Northumberland Resources and help pages. (Free).
- Cyndi's List for Northumberland
- FreeFoto.com has pictures of Northumberland which can be downloaded or copied.
- 1930 - England and Wales National Register, 1939 at FamilySearch — index
|Roxburghshire, Scotland||Berwickshire, Scotland|