Norwell, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Norwell, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Norwell, Nottinghamshire
Norwell St Laurence Nottinghamshire.jpg
Norwell St Laurence Nottinghamshire
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Southwell
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1681
Bishop's Transcripts: 1635
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Southwell
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of Southwell
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office
v • d • e


Parish History[edit | edit source]

NORWELL (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Southwell, N. division of the wapentake of Thurgarton, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 6 miles (N. by W.) from Newark with the chapelry of Carlton-upon-Trent, and the township of Norwell-Woodhouse. On the site of an ancient mansion called Preston Hall now stands a place of worship for Wesleyan Methodists, built in 1827.[1]

Additional information:


Norwell St Laurence is an Ancient parish in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire close to the border with Lincolnshire and includes Norwell Woodhouse andNorwell with Willoughby..

Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project have researched the history of the church Norwell St Laurence

The Church of St Laurence has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also St Laurence Church Norwell Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Norwell, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
NORWELL PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

 Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
Undefined

PALL

1790-1837


Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Norwell St Lawrence Baptisms 1682-1933 M arriages1685-1901 B urials1684-1960 Bishop’s Transcripts 1635-1843

Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Norwell

Norwell - St. Laurence's.  A transcription of Memorial Inscriptions dated from 1714, giving surname, given name, date of death, age. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. Magazine, vol. 59, pages 30-35, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Occupation
[edit | edit source]

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Original Transcription by Martin, Sheila.  Copy of the Will of William Hancock 1794.  Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD.SP 67/3.  Copy of the William Hancock 16 December 1794, Executors George Baines Norwell Woodhouse, with the following surnames in the Will - Parsons, How, Cullen, Fillingham, Warriner, Whitworth, White, Booth, Swallow, Wilson, Burgess, Robinson. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Soc. vol. 119, pages 62-64, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Norwell in GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

[tree] This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
v • d • e
Links to Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy-related articles
Topics
Parishes

Annesley  • Arnold  • Askham  • Attenborough  • Averham with Kelham  • Awsworth  • Babworth  • Balderton  • Barnby in the Willows  • Barton in Fabis  • Basford  • Beckingham  • Beeston  • Besthorpe  • Bilborough with Strelley  • Bilsthorpe  • Bingham  • Bleasby  • Blidworth  • Blyth  • Bole  • Bothamsall  • Boughton St Matthew  • Bradmore  • Bramcote  • Brewhouse Yard  • Broughton Sulney  • Bulcote  • Bulwell  • Bunny  • Burton Joyce  • Calverton  • Carburton  • Car Colston  • Carlton in Lindrick  • Carlton on Trent  • Carrington  • Caunton  • Clarborough  • Clayworth  • Clifton with Glapton  • Coddington  • Colston Bassett  • Colwick  • Cossall  • Costock  • Cotgrave  • Cotham  • Cottam  • Cromwell  • Cropwell Bishop  • Darlton  • Dunham  • Eakring  • East Bridgford  • East Drayton  • East Leake  • East Markham  • East Retford  • East Stoke  • Eastwood  • Eaton  • Edingley  • Edwalton  • Edwinstowe  • Egmanton  • Elksley  • Elston  • Elton on the Hill  • Epperstone  • Everton  • Farndon  • Farnsfield  • Felley  • Finningley  • Flawborough  • Fledborough  • Flintham  • Fulwood  • Gamston  • Gedling  • Girton  • Gonalston  • Gotham  • Granby  • Greasley  • Gringley on the Hill  • Grove  • Halam  • Halloughton  • Harworth  • Haughton  • Hawksworth  • Hawton  • Hayton  • Haywood Oaks  • Headon cum Upton  • Hickling  • Hockerton  • Holme Pierrepont with Adbolton  • Hucknall Torkard  • Hyson Green  • Ironville  • Kelham  • Keyworth  • Kilvington  • Kimberley  • Kingston on Soar  • Kinoulton  • Kirkby in Ashfield  • Kirklington  • Kirton  • Kneesall  • Kneeton  • Lambley  • Laneham  • Langar cum Barnstone  • Langford with Holme  • Laxton  • Lenton  • Linby  • Lindhurst  • Littleborough  • Lodge on the Wolds  • Lowdham with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe  • Mansfield St Peter and St Paul  • Mansfield Woodhouse  • Maplebeck  • Markham Clinton  • Marnham  • Mattersey  • Meering  • Misson  • Misterton  • Morton  • New Basford  • New Radford  • Newark on Trent  • Newark on Trent Christ Church  • Newstead Priory  • Normanton on Soar  • Normanton on Trent  • North Clifton  • North Collingham  • North Leverton with Apesthorpe  • North Muskham  • North Wheatley  • Norton Cuckney  • Norwell  • Nottingham St James  • Nottingham St John the Baptist  • Nottingham St Mary the Virgin  • Nottingham St Nicholas  • Nottingham St Paul  • Nottingham St Peter  • Nuthall  • Ollerton  • Ordsall  • Orston  • Ossington  • Owthorpe  • Oxton  • Papplewick  • Park Leys  • Park, The  • Perlethorpe  • Plumtree  • Radcliffe on Trent  • Radford St Peter  • Ragnall  • Rampton  • Ratcliffe on Soar  • Rempstone  • Rolleston  • Ruddington  • Rufford Abbey  • Saundby  • Scarrington  • Screveton  • Scrooby  • Selston with Underwood and Westwood  • Shelford  • Shelton  • Sibthorpe  • Skegby  • Sneinton St Stephen  • South Collingham  • South Leverton  • South Muskham  • South Scarle  • South Wheatley  • Southwell  • Southwell Holy Trinity  • Standard Hill  • Stanford on Soar  • Stanton on the Wolds  • Stapleford  • Staunton  • Stockwith  • Stokeham  • Strelley  • Sturton le Steeple  • Sutton Bonington St Anne  • Sutton Bonington St Michael  • Sutton cum Lound  • Sutton in Ashfield  • Sutton on Trent  • Syerston  • Teversal  • The Park  • Thorney with Wigsley and Broadholme  • Thoroton  • Thorpe  • Thrumpton  • Thurgarton with Hoveringham  • Tollerton  • Treswell  • Trowell  • Tuxford  • Tythby with Cropwell Butler  • Upton  • Walesby  • Walkeringham  • Warsop with Sookholme  • Welbeck  • Wellow  • West Bridgford  • West Burton  • West Drayton  • West Leake  • West Retford  • Weston  • Whatton  • Widmerpool  • Wilford  • Willoughby on the Wolds  • Winkburn  • Winthorpe  • Wiverton Hall  • Wollaton  • Woodborough  • Woodhouse Hall  • Woodsetts  • Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert  • Wysall

Probate
Courts
Major
 Repositories


  1. ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
  2. ↑ 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 28 January 2015.
  3. ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Norwell,_Nottinghamshire_Genealogy&oldid=3761805"