Nova Scotia Compiled Genealogies
Jump to navigation
Jump to search
| Nova Scotia Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Nova Scotia Background | |
| Nova Scotia Cultural Groups | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Contents
Websites and Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Nova Scotia Genealogy Books at the Library of Congress
- Genealogy/biography card index to materials in the Public Archives of Nova Scotia collection, ca. 1650-1990
- Yarmouth, Nova Scotia, Genealogies, index and images ($)
- Historical and genealogical record of the first settlers of Colchester County, down to the present time, index and images, ($)
- Nova Scotia Stories, Memories & Histories, ($)
- The Chignecto Isthmus and Its First Settlers by Howard Trueman
- History of the County of Annapolis, Nova Scotia : Including Old Port Royal & Acadia
- The History of King's County Digitized edition of this book by Arthur Wentworth Hamilton Eaton published in 1910. Includes a 340 page Family Sketches section (starting at page 542).
- Nova Scotia, Queens County, Notes of Thomas Brenton Smith, 1700-1950. images.
- Contains genealogical notes (extracted from local newspapers and other sources) on about 1700 Queens County, Nova Scotia families, covering the 1700's to the 1950's. The files are arranged alphabetically by surname. Within the files, the papers are arranged alphabetically by given name.
- History of the county of Annapolis, including old Port Royal and Acadia : with memoirs of its representatives in the Provincial parliament, and biographical and genealogical sketches of its early English settlers and their families by W.A. Calnek ; edited and completed by A.W. Savary
- Centre Acadien collection généalogique Three listings of Acadian genealogy with family names being repeated in each list. Includes card indexes.
- Genealogical file of Beaton Institute of Cape Breton College
- Genealogical manuscript collection (of the Nova Scotia Archives), 1700's-1900's
Nova Scotia Archives[edit | edit source]
The Nova Scotia Archives has a large collection of published family and local histories. Search the Library Catalog by surname.
Manuscript Collection[edit | edit source]
Manuscript Group 1, "Papers of Families and Individuals," can be very helpful. This section consists of manuscript sources such as Bible entries, notes, family journals, personal correspondence, papers, and documents for residents of Nova Scotia. The Public Archives of Nova Scotia has published the following report concerning these and other manuscript sources:
- Inventory of Manuscripts in the Public Archives of Nova Scotia. Halifax: The Public Archives of Nova Scotia, 1976. 2 vols. in 1. (Family History Library book 971.6 A5P; film 1036635 item 2)
The Atlantic Canadians[edit | edit source]
- The Atlantic Canadians 1600-1900: An Alphabetized Directory of the People, Places, and Vital Dates, 3 volumes. Elliot, Noel M., editor, (Toronto, Ontario: Genealogical Research Library, 1994).
- This is an index to many published biographies, cemetery records, census records (through 1881), church records, directories, family histories, genealogies, immigration lists, local histories, Loyalist listings, marriage records, periodicals, probate records, and vital records in newspapers.
Collecting Previous Research by Others Part Two: Online Family Tree Collections[edit | edit source]
For step-by-step instructions on searching several important compiled genealogy websites, see Collecting Previous Research by Others Part Two: Online Family Tree Collections.
Digitized Books[edit | edit source]
- Local histories frequently include biographical sketches of early and prominent settlers. Many histories are no longer under copyright and can be found in the following online, digitized book collections. Search with keywords "History" and "the name of your locality" (state, county, or town).
FamilySearch Catalog[edit | edit source]
- Surname or Keyword Search FamilySearch Catalog Family genealogies can be found listed by using the "Surname" search. For extremely common surnames, narrow down your search by using the surname and the location where the family lived in the "Keyword" search.
| ||||||||||
