Nunavut, Canada Genealogy
Guide to Nunavut ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
|Nunavut Research Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
History[edit | edit source]
Discussions on dividing the Northwest Territories along ethnic lines began in the 1950s, and legislation to do this was introduced in 1963. After its failure a federal commission recommended against such a measure. In 1976, as part of the land claims negotiations between the Inuit and the federal government, the parties discussed division of the Northwest Territories to provide a separate territory for the Inuit. On April 14, 1982, a plebiscite on division was held throughout the Northwest Territories. A majority of the residents voted in favour and the federal government gave a conditional agreement seven months later.
The land claims agreement was completed in September 1992 and ratified by nearly 85% of the voters in Nunavut in a referendum. On July 9, 1993, the Nunavut Land Claims Agreement Act and the Nunavut Act were passed by the Canadian Parliament. The transition to establish Nunavut Territory was completed on April 1, 1999.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Links to articles on getting started with Nunavut research.
Links to articles and websites that assist in Nunavut research.
[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
|FORMER NAME, if applicable||TYPE||
|ANY NEW LOCATIONS IN FHL CATALOG???||Link|
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records - databases and record images on FamilySearch
- Family History Center locator map
- Canadian Headstones — index