To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Nursted, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Nursted, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Nursted, Kent
Nurstead St Mildred Kent.jpg
Nurstead St Mildred Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Toltingtrough
County Kent
Poor Law Union North Aylesford
Registration District North Aylesford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1561
Bishop's Transcripts: 1721
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rochester
Diocese Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

NURSTED (St. Mildred), a parish, in the union of North Aylesford, hundred of Toltingtrough, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, 4¼ miles S by W from Gravesend. [1]

Nurstead Court and its church are within the civil parish of Meopham in the Gravesham district of Kent. See Meopham Wikipedia for a description of the local settlements in the Meopham civil parish.

Nurstead (in some sources Nursted) St Mildred is an Ancient Parish near Meopham.

The mediaeval church is dedicated to St Mildred a local saint (born at Minster in Kent) and is the surviving part of the Nurstead Court ancient manor.

The church of St Mildred, Nurstead Church Lane, Meopham has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 351-356 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Nursted parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
MED = Medway Ancestors - free[6]
Nursted Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1721-1730, 1795, 1808-1883 (gaps)


FREG 1561-1998
1561-1945
1561-1996
FS BTs 1720-1883 1720-1883 1720-1883
IGI 1813-1883 1720-1737, 1794-1796, 1807-1812
MED 1561-1997 1561-1997 1561-1997

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Nursted 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 461-463. Date accessed: 22 April 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
  6. 'Medway Ancestors Imagebase: list of parishes, in alphabetical order', Cityark, accessed 8 November 2013.

FamilySearch

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.