To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Oakham, Rutland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Oakham, Rutland ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Oakham, Rutland
All Saints Oakham Rutland.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oakham-Soke
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Oakham
Registration District Oakham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1564
Bishop's Transcripts: 1707
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

OAKHAM, or Okeham (All Saints), a market town and parish, and the head of a union, in the soke of Oakham, county of Rutland, of which it is the chief town, 95 miles NNW from London. At Egleton is a chapel of ease; and there are places of worship in the town for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, and Wesleyans.[1]

Oakham, market town, parish, and county town of Rutland, 13½ miles W of Stamford and 96 miles from London by rail - par., 3130 acres, pop. 3227; town (comprising the townships of Oakham Deanshold and Oakham Lordshold), pop. 3204; P.O., T.O. Market-days, Thursday and Saturday. Oakham is situated in the fine vale of Catmose, and is a healthy and well kept town. Its trade is chiefly in coal, corn, and malt; while there are considerable mfrs. of boots and shoes, and fancy hosiery. Brewing is also carried on. Oakham is the assize town of Rutland.[2]

The Victoria County History of Oakham (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[3]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Oakham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[4][5]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[7]
Oakham Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1873 1813-1873 1813-1873 1813-1873
BOYD
1564-1754

IGI 1707-1812 1564-1837

Deposited parish registers are found at the Leicester and Rutland Record Office. Deposited bishop's transcripts are held at the Northamptonshire Record Office.

Diocese of Peterborough: Oakham Baptisms 1564 - 1952; Marriages 1564 - 1978 (Banns to 1980); Burials 1564 - 1894

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  2. Bartholomew,, John, Gazetteer of the British Isles, 1887. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  3. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 05 December 2013.
  4. 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  5. 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  6. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  7. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Rutland, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.