Ocker Hill, Staffordshire Genealogy
Guide to Ocker Hill, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Ocker Hill, Staffordshire|
|Poor Law Union||Dudley|
|Parish registers: 1834|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Staffordshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
OCKER-HILL, a hamlet and a chapelry in Tipton parish, Stafford. The hamlet lies on the Walsall and Wolverhampton railway, near the Birmingham canal, 1½ mile S W of Wednesbury; and has a station on the railway . The chapelry was constituted in 1845.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
St Mark (Ocker Hill) ecclesiastical parish was formed on 3rd September 1845. The church at Ocker Hill opened in November 1849.
St Mark (Ocker Hill) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free FREG - Search under Tipton|
|ST MARK (OCKER HILL) (1846) Online Records|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Ocker Hill Wesleyan Chapel registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|OCKER HILL WESLEYAN CHAPEL (1841) Online Records|
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.