Old Romney, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Old Romney, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Old Romney, Kent|
Old Romney St Clement Kent
|Poor Law Union||Romney Marsh|
|Registration District||Romney Marsh|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1560|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ROMNEY, OLD (St. Clement), a parish, in the Cinque Port liberty of Romney, union of Romney Marsh, lathe of Shepway, E division of Kent, 1¾ mile W by N from New Romney. 
Old Romney is a village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent.
Old Romney St Clement is an Ancient Parish and as the name suggests formed the original settlement of Romney Marsh. This was also the original port of Romney which gradually extended along the Rother toward the sea with either end called "Old" and "New" Romney. As the harbour silted up the importance of Old Romney lessened and soon only St Clement and the settlement remained by the 17th century.
The village and civil parish are on an island in the River Rother estuary, known in Roman Times as Vetus Rumllenum. The village church of St Clement is Norman in origin with later additions and restoration.
The church of St Clement, Old Romney has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building.
The church has been a film location for two films. The 1960s restoration of the church was funded by the Disney Corporation who preferred to film here rather than at Dymchurch for Dr Syn, Alias The Scarecrow (1962) Also known as "The Scarecrow of Romney Marsh": based on the novel by Russell Thorndike. Walt Disney felt that the story of a fictional smuggling vicar of Dymchurch was better set in this location.
The Loves of Joanna Godden (1947) Based on the novel "Joanna Godden" by Sheila Kaye-Smith was also filmed here.
Derek Jarman, film maker, is buried in the churchyard.Find a Grave
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Old Romney parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free|
|Old Romney Online Parish Records|
Original deposited registers were formerly held at: Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX
From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives
Family History Library film numbers Romney, Old See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
8Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
- Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
- Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.