Old Shoreham, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Old Shoreham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Old Shoreham, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Steyning|
|Parish registers: 1565|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SHOREHAM, OLD (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Steyning, hundred of Fishergate, rape of Bramber, West division of Sussex, one half a mile North West by North from New Shoreham.
St Nicholas Old Shoreham Shoreham-by-Sea is in the Adur district of West Sussex. St Nicholas Church Shoreham-by-Sea Wikipedia
Sussex Parish Churches contains a history of the church Old Shoreham St Nicholas
Old Shoreham Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) contains details of places of worship in Old Shoreham
Former Manorial Chapel, Erringham
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church records[edit | edit source]
Old Shoreham, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|Old Shoreham, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Shoreham, Old
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.