Old Sleaford, Lincolnshire Genealogy
Guide to Old Sleaford, Lincolnshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Old Sleaford, Lincolnshire|
|County||Lincolnshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Sleaford|
|Parish registers: None; For records see Quarrington|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Rural Deanery||Aswardhurn with Lafford|
|Probate Court||Pre-1834 - Court of the Peculiar of the Prebendal of Sleaford; Post-1833 - Court of the Bishop of Lincoln (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
SLEAFORD, OLD (St. Giles), a parish, in the union of Sleaford, wapentake of Flaxwell, parts of Kesteven, county of Lincoln, 1 mile (S. E.) from the town of New Sleaford.
The Ancient Parish was combined with Quarrington, Lincolnshire Genealogy when the church of St Giles fell into disuse and ruin in the 1600's. An earlier church on the site was All Saints but this was replaced in the 1500's. All Surviving records of the combined parish area should be searched at Quarrington.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Old Sleaford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Old Sleaford Online Parish Records|
|FMP Marr Index||1700-1837|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the Lincolnshire Archives.
Material deposited at Lincolnshire Archives,
St Rumbold Street
Enquiries: firstname.lastname@example.org The website enables you to view a PDF file for all records held for each parish as part of continuing efforts to provide an online catalogue.
Consult the online catalogue for the Quarrington, Lincolnshire Genealogy records for the combined parish.
Links to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Sleaford, Old
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lincolnshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 06 September 2013.