Ollerton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ollerton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.


Ollerton, Nottinghamshire
Ollerton St Giles Nottinghamshire.jpg
Ollerton St Giles Nottinghamshire
Type Chapelry (England)
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw
County Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Southwell
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1592; For more records see Edwinstowe
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Retford
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Manor of Edwinstowe
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office
v • d • e

Parish History[edit | edit source]

OLLERTON, a market-town and chapelry, in the parish of Edwinstowe, union of Southwell, Hatfield division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 18½ miles (N. N. E.) from Nottingham. Here is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Additional information:

Ollerton St Giles is an Ancient Parish in the civil parish of Ollerton and Boughton in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.

The Southwell and Nottingham Church History Project is researching the history of the church and parish Ollerton St Giles

The  church of St Giles has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

The Parish church of St Paulinus which dates from 1931 has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See also Ollerton Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Ollerton St Giles parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
OLLERTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

 Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined
Undefined
Undefined
PALL
1790-1812

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1592-1963 Marriages 1593-1956 Burials 1593-1927 Bishop’s Transcripts 1627-1854

Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Ollerton St Paulinus

Baptisms 1934-1966 Marriages 1932-1959

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ollerton

Ollerton - St Giles.  Memorials inside the Church  - War memorial 1914-1918, alphabetical listing with surname, and given name. Also inside on Brass plaques - listing giving surname, given name, date of death, age, and sometimes the position they held at the Church. Memorials outside the Church, alpabetical listing withsame as above, starting in 1729. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Magazine, vol. 91, page 25-28, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


See Nottinghamshire Census

Military Records[edit | edit source]

War Memorial - Ollerton, Old Newark Road.   War Memorials, -  for W.W.1, W.W.2, Cyprus and Northern Ireland, giving surname, initials of given names.  The Cypriot War Memorial is for Gillott, Terence Arthur who died on active service 28 Augsut 1956 aged 21 years.  Northern Ireland is for McGonicle, Stephen Russell Cpl. killed on active service 4 May 1989, age 30 years.  Transcription of these Memorials is in Nottinghamshire Family History vol. 91, page 28, FHL Ref. 942.52 D25n

Occupation[edit | edit source]

Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.

Transcribed by Chettle, Jim, and Bailey, Bryan.  Nominal Rolls of the Earl of Scarbrough's School, Ollerton 1848-1860.  Nominal roll showing the present state of Earl Scarborough's Endowed School, for the years 1848-1860, giving pupil's given name, surname, age, place of residence under what terms admitted and date of admission.  Original held at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD.SR 214/1-24, and the transcription in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 115, pages 1-46, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records
[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Ollerton (formerly Alereton or Allerton) in GENUKI: Alston, Lancashire, England

References[edit | edit source]

[tree] This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
v • d • e
Links to Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy-related articles
Topics
Parishes

Annesley  • Arnold  • Askham  • Attenborough  • Averham with Kelham  • Awsworth  • Babworth  • Balderton  • Barnby in the Willows  • Barton in Fabis  • Basford  • Beckingham  • Beeston  • Besthorpe  • Bilborough with Strelley  • Bilsthorpe  • Bingham  • Bleasby  • Blidworth  • Blyth  • Bole  • Bothamsall  • Boughton St Matthew  • Bradmore  • Bramcote  • Brewhouse Yard  • Broughton Sulney  • Bulcote  • Bulwell  • Bunny  • Burton Joyce  • Calverton  • Carburton  • Car Colston  • Carlton in Lindrick  • Carlton on Trent  • Carrington  • Caunton  • Clarborough  • Clayworth  • Clifton with Glapton  • Coddington  • Colston Bassett  • Colwick  • Cossall  • Costock  • Cotgrave  • Cotham  • Cottam  • Cromwell  • Cropwell Bishop  • Darlton  • Dunham  • Eakring  • East Bridgford  • East Drayton  • East Leake  • East Markham  • East Retford  • East Stoke  • Eastwood  • Eaton  • Edingley  • Edwalton  • Edwinstowe  • Egmanton  • Elksley  • Elston  • Elton on the Hill  • Epperstone  • Everton  • Farndon  • Farnsfield  • Felley  • Finningley  • Flawborough  • Fledborough  • Flintham  • Fulwood  • Gamston  • Gedling  • Girton  • Gonalston  • Gotham  • Granby  • Greasley  • Gringley on the Hill  • Grove  • Halam  • Halloughton  • Harworth  • Haughton  • Hawksworth  • Hawton  • Hayton  • Haywood Oaks  • Headon cum Upton  • Hickling  • Hockerton  • Holme Pierrepont with Adbolton  • Hucknall Torkard  • Hyson Green  • Ironville  • Kelham  • Keyworth  • Kilvington  • Kimberley  • Kingston on Soar  • Kinoulton  • Kirkby in Ashfield  • Kirklington  • Kirton  • Kneesall  • Kneeton  • Lambley  • Laneham  • Langar cum Barnstone  • Langford with Holme  • Laxton  • Lenton  • Linby  • Lindhurst  • Littleborough  • Lodge on the Wolds  • Lowdham with Gunthorpe and Caythorpe  • Mansfield St Peter and St Paul  • Mansfield Woodhouse  • Maplebeck  • Markham Clinton  • Marnham  • Mattersey  • Meering  • Misson  • Misterton  • Morton  • New Basford  • New Radford  • Newark on Trent  • Newark on Trent Christ Church  • Newstead Priory  • Normanton on Soar  • Normanton on Trent  • North Clifton  • North Collingham  • North Leverton with Apesthorpe  • North Muskham  • North Wheatley  • Norton Cuckney  • Norwell  • Nottingham St James  • Nottingham St John the Baptist  • Nottingham St Mary the Virgin  • Nottingham St Nicholas  • Nottingham St Paul  • Nottingham St Peter  • Nuthall  • Ollerton  • Ordsall  • Orston  • Ossington  • Owthorpe  • Oxton  • Papplewick  • Park Leys  • Park, The  • Perlethorpe  • Plumtree  • Radcliffe on Trent  • Radford St Peter  • Ragnall  • Rampton  • Ratcliffe on Soar  • Rempstone  • Rolleston  • Ruddington  • Rufford Abbey  • Saundby  • Scarrington  • Screveton  • Scrooby  • Selston with Underwood and Westwood  • Shelford  • Shelton  • Sibthorpe  • Skegby  • Sneinton St Stephen  • South Collingham  • South Leverton  • South Muskham  • South Scarle  • South Wheatley  • Southwell  • Southwell Holy Trinity  • Standard Hill  • Stanford on Soar  • Stanton on the Wolds  • Stapleford  • Staunton  • Stockwith  • Stokeham  • Strelley  • Sturton le Steeple  • Sutton Bonington St Anne  • Sutton Bonington St Michael  • Sutton cum Lound  • Sutton in Ashfield  • Sutton on Trent  • Syerston  • Teversal  • The Park  • Thorney with Wigsley and Broadholme  • Thoroton  • Thorpe  • Thrumpton  • Thurgarton with Hoveringham  • Tollerton  • Treswell  • Trowell  • Tuxford  • Tythby with Cropwell Butler  • Upton  • Walesby  • Walkeringham  • Warsop with Sookholme  • Welbeck  • Wellow  • West Bridgford  • West Burton  • West Drayton  • West Leake  • West Retford  • Weston  • Whatton  • Widmerpool  • Wilford  • Willoughby on the Wolds  • Winkburn  • Winthorpe  • Wiverton Hall  • Wollaton  • Woodborough  • Woodhouse Hall  • Woodsetts  • Worksop St Mary and St Cuthbert  • Wysall

Probate
Courts
Major
 Repositories


  1. ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted, date accessed: 08 December 2013.
  2. ↑ 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
  3. ↑ Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Ollerton,_Nottinghamshire_Genealogy&oldid=3761845"