Onsala Parish, Halland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Onsala Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Onsala Church

History[edit | edit source]

Onsala is a locality situated in Kungsbacka Municipality, Halland County, Sweden. It is also a long peninsula on the west coast of Sweden, facing Kattegat, 40 kilometres or 25 mi south of Gothenburg.
It dates back to the age of the vikings and was originally an area devoted to the god Odin, the name being a corruption of the old norse Odin's Sala. In English "The Halls of Odin"
[1]

Onsala Parish, Halland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift add here
Pastorat add here
Län Halland
Landskap Halland
Härad Fjäre
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi add here
Kommun add here
Militär indelning add here


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Kronohemman

Barkholmen, Bassås Arvesgård 1 - 2, Bassås Berget, Bassås Jurtegård, Justegård, Lilla Siken, Löcka, Bratterås, Buerås, Bäcken Norre, Bäcken Yttre,

Dannnebacka Backen, Dannebacka Tullkammaren,

Ellskogsbräcka,

Finnagården,

Gubbekulla Lilla Enen,

Hagen Karsegård, Hallen Västra, Hallen Östra, Hammarkulla, Hunsås, Hwicka, Hväfsingsö, Håkulla, Håltet, Hästared, Högås,

Iserås Mårtagård, Iserås Ranagård,

Kollen, Kjöpestaden, Kjöpestaden Broen, Kjöpestaden Storegården,

Ledet 1 - 2, Liden, Lindfjäll Lilla, Lunden, Lyngås Wråen and Björmanehög,

Måsen Store,

Norrelund,

Onsala Klockaregård, Onsala Prestegård,

Runsås Lilla, Runsås Stora, Råö, Rörvik Lilla, Rörvik Stora, Rösan Månsagård 1 - 2,

Sefvekulla, Skalegården, Skällared, Skällared Gottskär, Spekedahl, Staragården Stora, Strannegården Kubbagård, Stänkelsås Västra, Stänkelsås Östra, Skällared,


Frälsehemman

Apelröd,

Bränna 1 - 3, Buerås Allekulla,

Dannebacka Apelhögen and Rydet,

Ekerna, Enen Store,

Gatan, Gullekulla,

Hagen Norre, Hagen Västre, Heden Ögården 1 - 2, Häcklehagen, Hästared,

Iserås Hålan, Iserås Lilla, Iserås Stora, Iserås Timanegård,

Kråkekärr, Kjöpstaden Backen 1 - 3, Kjöpstaden Tranekulla, Kjöpstaden Tollagård, Kjöpstaden Ullerås,

Ledet Högen, Lindås, Lindfjäll stora, Lyngås Berget, Lyngås Lilla and Stora,

Måsen Lilla, Måsen Ebbagård,

Rösan Bockagård, Rösan Jutagård 1 - 2, Röserås, Råö Knapegården 1 - 2,

Staragården Norre, Staragården Lille, Strannegården, Sunnerlund Harsta, Säterie,

Underliden,

Wiken Clasagård, Wiken Mällborg and Släbog, Wiken Pyksten, Wiken Släbog and Dufvekull, Wiken Sommargård 1 - 2,  Wiken Stofagård,


To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Halland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Halland" and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Onsala Församling Husförhörslängd 1837 - 1849 Ortregister