Ore, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Ore, Sussex Genealogy)
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Ore, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ore, Sussex
St Helen's Church (Ore Parish Church), The Ridge, Hastings.jpg
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Baldstow; Hastings Borough
County Sussex, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Hastings
Registration District Hastings
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1606
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hastings
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ORE (St. Helen), a parish, in the hundred of Baldslow, union and rape of Hastings, East division of Sussex, 2½ miles North by North West from Hastings. The parish is situated on the road from Hastings to Battle.[1]


The former parish church of Ore, St Helens had 12th-century origins and there are remaining listed ruins. The present St Helen's Church, built nearby in 1869, replaced it.

history and images

Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

From this parish developed Ore Christ Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks [OPC)

other places of worship include

Clive Vale United Reformed Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Halton Baptist Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Redlake Congregational Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Seventh Day Adventist Church
St Helens Methodist Church

See Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 479-483. here

See also Ore Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Find Neighboring Parishes[edit | edit source]

Use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map

  • Type the name of the parish in the search bar
  • Click on the location pin on the map
  • Choose Options from the pop up box
  • Click "List Contiguous Parishes" to find the neighboring parishes

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The Church of England (Anglican) became the official state religion in 1534, with the reigning monarch as its Supreme Governor.
Non-Conformist refers to all other religious denominations that are not the official state religion.

Church of England[edit | edit source]

Due to the increasing access of online records:

  • Individual parish coverage for databases in this table are inconsistent and should be verified
  • Dates in the following table are approximate

Hover over the collection's title for more information

Ore Online Parish Records
Collections
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
Indexes and images
Indexes only
FamilySearch Collections-Sussex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
FamilySearch Parish Registers-Sussex
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
Bishop's Transcripts - FamilySearch Catalog
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
1700s-1800s
-
FreeREG
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
Find My Past-Sussex ($)
1500s-1900s
-
1500s-1900s
-
1600s-1800s
-
Ancestry-England & Wales, Birth, Christening, Marriage and Death Indexes ($)
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
-
1800s-1900s
Databases with Known Incomplete Parish Coverage
Boyd's Marriage Indexes-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
1500s-1800s
-
-
National Burial Index-FMP (Free)
-
-
-
-
-
1800s-1900s

Other Websites
These databases have incomplete parish coverage.

Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Hastings Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SSX/Ore/

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted 28 May 2013