Ore, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Ore, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Baldstow; Hastings Borough|
|Poor Law Union||Hastings|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ORE (St. Helen), a parish, in the hundred of Baldslow, union and rape of Hastings, East division of Sussex, 2½ miles North by North West from Hastings. The parish is situated on the road from Hastings to Battle.
The former parish church of Ore, St Helens had 12th-century origins and there are remaining listed ruins. The present St Helen's Church, built nearby in 1869, replaced it.
From this parish developed Ore Christ Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks [OPC)
other places of worship include
Clive Vale United Reformed Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Halton Baptist Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Redlake Congregational Church Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Seventh Day Adventist Church
St Helens Methodist Church
See also Ore Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Ore, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Ore, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ore
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Adapted 28 May 2013
- 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 30 December 2013.