To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Otham, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Otham, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Otham, Kent
Otham St Nicholas Kent.jpg
Otham St Nicholas Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eyhorne
County Kent
Poor Law Union Maidstone
Registration District Maidstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sutton
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

OTHAM (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Maidstone, hundred of Eyhorne, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, 3 miles SE by E from Maidstone. [1]

Otham is a village and civil parish in the Maidstone District of Kent, see Otham Wikipedia and Parish council website

Otham St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; the modern parish is Otham with Langley A church near you

The parish church of St Nicholas, Church Road, Otham has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 513-519 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Otham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Otham Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
1814-1835

FS PRs 1823-1900

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Otham 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 486-491. Date accessed: 17 April 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

FamilySearch