Over Kellet, Lancashire Genealogy
England 
Lancashire Lancashire Parishes
Guide to Over Kellet, Lancashire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Over Kellet, Lancashire | |
|---|---|
 | |
| Type | Ecclesiastical Parish |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Lonsdale |
| County | Lancashire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Caton Gilbert Union |
| Registration District | Lancaster |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1653 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1682 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Tunstall |
| Diocese | Manchester |
| Province | York |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Kendal |
| Location of Archive | |
| Lancashire Archives | |
Contents
Chapelry History[edit | edit source]
KELLET, OVER, a chapelry, in the parish of Bolton-le-Sands, hundred of Lonsdale south of the Sands, N. division of Lancashire, 6¼ miles (N. N. E.)from Lancaster, to the right of the road to Kendal. [1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD
Lancashire Online Parish Clerks[edit | edit source]
An extremely useful resource for research in Lancashire Parishes http://www.lan-opc.org.uk/
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- 1538 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Parish Registers 1538-1910 at FamilySearch — index
- 1603 - 1910 England, Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire, Parish Registers, 1603-1910 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church of England
Over Kellet chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bolton le Sands to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following websites and ranges of years:
| FS = FamilySearch.org | |||||
| LOPC = Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project | |||||
| FMP = findmypast | |||||
| LBMD = LancashireBMD.org.uk | |||||
| AC = Ancestry.co.uk | |||||
| FREG = FreeReg | |||||
| JOIN =Joiner's Marriage Index |
| OVER KELLET Chapelry (1648) Indexes | |||
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |
| FS | 1661-1812 | 1653-1812 | 1682, 1689-1778 |
| LOPC | 1648-1948 | 1653-1948 | 1653-1947 |
| JOIN | 1813-1837 | ||
| AC | 1652-1812 | 1652-1812 | 1652-1812 |
| BOLTON Le SANDS HOLY TRINITY PARISH (1642) Indexes (ancient parish containing OVER KELLET Chapelry) | |||
|---|---|---|---|
| Baptisms | Marriages | Burials | |
| FS | 1655-1769; 1851-1885 | 1653-1820 | None |
| LOPC | 1737-1902 | 1653-1896 | 1737-1920 |
| JOIN | 1813-1837 | ||
| AC | 1655-1736 | 1655-1736 | 1655-1736 |
| FMP | 1573-1837 | ||
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Over Kellet and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bolton le Sands to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BOLTON LE SANDS HOLY TRINITY PARISH page.
Non Conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
- 1647-1996 England, Lancashire Non-conformist Church Records, 1647-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions
[edit | edit source]
Caton Gilbert Union,Lancashire
Probate records
[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
- 1665-1667 - Lancashire Hearth Tax: Lonsdale Hundred, Over Kellet. E 179/132/352, The National Archives. Microfilm: FHL Film 2228692.
Maps and Gazetteers
[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
![[tree]](/wiki/en/File:Mosaic_FamilySearch_Tree_Image.jpg){kind=small} |
This section requires expansion with: any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.. |
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 643-646. Date accessed: 30 September 2013.
