Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne, Worcestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Tewkesbury; Winchcombe|
|Registration District||Tewkesbury; Winchcomb|
|Parish registers: 1557; Separate registers exist for Alstone (Gloucestershire) beginning 1546|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1611; Separate records exist for Alstone (Gloucestershire) beginning 1619|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Worcestershire Record Office|
Part of this parish is in Worcestershire. See also Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne, Gloucestershire.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
OVERBURY (St. Faith), a parish, in the unions of Tewkesbury and Winchcomb, Middle division of the hundred of Oswaldslow, Pershore and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 5½ miles (N. E.) from Tewkesbury; with the chapelries of Alstone, Teddington, and Little Washbourne, and the hamlet of Conderton. The Independents have a place of worship.
Part of parish is in county of Gloucestershire and part in county of Worcestershire.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Overbury with Alstone, Teddington and Little Washbourne Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the The Hive (where the Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service is located).
Non-conformist Records[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
- 1642-1996 England, Gloucestershire Non-conformist Records, 1642-1996 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 14 October 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Worcestershire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.