Ovingdean, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Ovingdean, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Newhaven|
|Parish registers: 1704|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
OVINGDEAN, a parish, in the union of Newhaven, hundred of Younsmere, rape of Lewes, East division of Sussex, three miles East by South from Brighton.
Ovingdean is a former agricultural village which became absorbed into the growing borough of Brighton, East Sussex in 1928 and is now part of the city of Brighton and Hove. Ovingdean Wikipedia
The church of St Wulfran has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Sussex Parish Churches history of the church Ovingdean St Wulfram
Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)Ovingdean St Wulfram
The parish of Whitehawk was formed from this parish Whitehawk Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Other places of worship in Whitehawk include St Cuthman (Anglican)St Cuthman Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) St David's Mission Hall St Louis, King of France (Roman Catholic)St Louis Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)
Whitehawk is a suburb east of Brighton in the city of city of Brighton and Hove Whitehawk Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in Lewes Registration District
Certificates may be obtained from
The Register Office
Phone: 01323 464780
Fax: 01323 431386
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ovingdean, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|Ovingdean, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.
Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Ovingdean
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See also Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC)]Ovingdean for census entries in the online database.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical dictionary of England (1848). Adapted 23 May 2013.
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.