To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Oxney, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Oxney, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Oxney, Kent
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Cornilo
County Kent
Poor Law Union Dover
Registration District Dover
Records begin
Parish registers: None; For records see Eythorne
Bishop's Transcripts: None
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

OXNEY, formerly a parish, now annexed to that of St. Margaret-at-Cliffe, in the union of Dover, hundred of Cornilo, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent, 5½ miles NE from Dover. [1]

Oxney was formed as a chapelry in Eythorne, Kent Ancient parish.

In 1800 Edward Hasted in his History and Topography of Kent Volume 9 pp 409-411 describes the parish as small and adjoining St Margaret at Cliffe, Kent; the church of St Nicholas as "long since desecrated" and the remains forming a barn.

The chapelry had been associated with manorial land of the d'Auberville family.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Dover Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Oxney parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Oxney Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1538-1988
1538-1997
1538-2010
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 503-525. Date accessed: 17 April 2013. Date accessed: 9 September 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch