To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Paddlesworth (near Snodland), Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Paddlesworth (near Snodland)

Guide to Paddlesworth (near Snodland), Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Paddlesworth (near Snodland), Kent
Paddlesworth St Benedict Kent.jpg
Paddlesworth St Benedict Kent
Type Extra-parochial
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Loningborough
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: For records see surrounding parishes
Bishop's Transcripts: For records see surrounding parishes
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Not Applicable
Diocese Not Applicable
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Search the courts of the surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

PADDLESWORTH, an ancient parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Larkfield, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, 6¼ miles SW from Rochester; united at an early period to that of Snodland. [1]

Paddlesworth St Benedict is a redundant Anglican Church in the village of Paddlesworth near Snodland. The building is in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust and is designated by English Heritage as a Grade II* listed building. British listed building

Churches Conservation Trust

Paddlesworth became an extra parochial place when the church closed in 1678; the small settlement around the 11th century church was wiped out in 1349 by the Black Death.

The church building was used for agricultural building before 1935 when it was restored as a church. Further restoration has since taken place to preserve it.

It stands on the Pilgrim's way used by travellers from Winchester Cathedral to the shrine at Canterbury Cathedral.St Benedict's Church Paddlesworth

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 4 (1798), pp. 471-473. Date accessed: 9 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Paddlesworth near Snodland should not be confused with Paddlesworth (near Folkestone), Kent

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Paddlesworth (near Snodland) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FREG = FreeREG - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Paddlesworth (near Snodland) Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1813-1917
1848-1934
1813-1990
FMP Canterbury 1813-1917
1848-1934
1813-1990
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Snodland and Paddlesworth, 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 525-530. Date accessed: 24 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch