Page County, Virginia Genealogy
Guide to Page County Virginia ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, immigration records, and military records.
|Page County, Virginia|
Location in the state of Virginia
Location of Virginia in the U.S.
- 1 County Information
- 2 Page County, Virginia History
- 3 Page County, Virginia Places/Localities
- 4 Resources
- 4.1 Research Guides
- 4.2 African Americans
- 4.3 Bible Records
- 4.4 Cemeteries
- 4.5 Census
- 4.6 Churches and Church Records
- 4.7 Court
- 4.8 Genealogy
- 4.9 Land and Property
- 4.10 Local Histories
- 4.11 Maps
- 4.12 Military
- 4.13 Miscellaneous Records
- 4.14 Naturalization
- 4.15 Newspapers
- 4.16 Occupations
- 4.17 Private Papers
- 4.18 Probate Records
- 4.19 Taxation
- 4.20 Vital Records
- 5 Page County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries
- 6 Page County, Virginia Genealogy Websites
- 7 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
Page County is located in the Northwest portion of the Commonwealth of Virginia and was named for John Page, Governor of Virginia, 1802-1805.
Page County, Virginia Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Page County Courthouse
116 South Court Street
Luray, Virginia 22835
Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorce,
land, probate and court records from 1831
General compliance year is unknown.
Page County, Virginia History[edit | edit source]
The county is named after Virginia Governor John Page (1744-1808).
Parent County[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Virginia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Virginia County Boundary Maps" (1617-1995) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
- Lost census: 1890
Page County, Virginia Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- Good, Rebecca H. and Rebecca A. Ebert. Finding Your People in the Shenandoah Valley of Virginia: A Genealogical Guide. Bowie, Md.: Heritage Books, 1998. 4th ed. FHL Book 975 D27e 1998
- Kelley, Teresa. "Paging Through the Past at the Page Public Library, Luray, Page County, Virginia," The Virginia Genealogical Society Newsletter, Vol. 25, No. 3 (Jun. 1999):1-2. Available at FHL; digital version at Virginia Genealogical Society website.
African Americans[edit | edit source]
- Freedmen's Bureau Letters or Correspondence, 1865-1872
Bible Records[edit | edit source]
Images of the Virginia Historical Society's family Bible collection have been digitized:
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Virginia Cemeteries for more information.|
- 1800-1986 - Virginia, Jewish Cemetery Records Index, ca. 1800-1986 at FamilySearch — index
- Ellsberry, Elizabeth Prather, comp. Cemetery Records of Page County, Virginia, Volume I, Luray Cemetery. Chillicothe, MO, USA: Elizabeth Prather Ellsberry, c1965. Available at FHL; digital version at Ancestry ($).
Census[edit | edit source]
For tips on accessing Page County, Virginia Genealogy census records online, see: Virginia Census.
1890 Union Veterans' Census
- "Virginia's Union Veterans: Eleventh Census of the United States 1890." Prince William County Virginia, by Ronald Ray Turner. FHL Collection. Includes residents of this county.
Churches and Church Records[edit | edit source]
Baptist[edit | edit source]
Early Baptist churches (with years constituted):
- Mill Creek (by 1798). Minutes begin in 1798 and have been published through 1824 in the Genealogical Society of Page County, Virginia Newsletter, Vol. 9, No. 2 (Spring 1998), Vol. 9, No. 3 (Summer 1998), Vol. 9, No. 4 (Fall 1998), Vol. 10, No. 1 (Winter 1999), Vol. 10, No. 2 (Spring 1999), Vol. 10, No. 3 (Summer 1999). Membership lists (1823-1846) and deaths (1829-1850) were published in Seattle Genealogical Society Bulletin, Vol. 16, No. 4 (June 1967) and Vol. 17, No. 1 (Sep. 1967): FHL Book 979.777 B2b v. 16-17 (1966-1968).
German Reformed[edit | edit source]
- Braun, Johannes, Klaus Wust and Joseph H. Meyerhoeffer. Shenandoah Valley Family Data, 1799-1813: From the Memorandum Book of Pastor Johannes Braun. Edinburg, Va.: Shenandoah History Publishers, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 975.5 K2bjo.
Lutheran[edit | edit source]
Mount Calvary Lutheran Church, also known as Hawksbill Church, Hacksbill Church, Hoxbiehl Church, and Gomer's Church
- Cassell, C. W.; W. J. Finck; and Elon O. Henkel, editors, History of the Lutheran Church in Virginia and East Tennessee (Ancestry $). Strasburg, Virginia: Shenandoah Publishing House, Inc., 1930. Digital images. Ancestry.com. https://www.ancestry.com : 2008.
- Wust, Klaus, translator. The Record of Hawksbill Church 1788-1850 Page County, VA. Edinburg, Virginia: Shenandoah History, 1979.
Court[edit | edit source]
Indexes and images to Page County, Virginia Chancery Records 1831-1914 are available online through Virginia Memory: Chancery Records Index. These records, which were often concerned with inheritance disputes, contain a wealth of genealogical information.
Genealogy[edit | edit source]
More than a dozen genealogies have been published about Page County families. To view a list, visit Page County, Virginia Compiled Genealogies.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
- Strickler, Harry M. A Short History of Page County Virginia. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Inc., 1952. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library - free.
Maps[edit | edit source]
- Massanutten Area Atlas. Original records, Shenandoah County Archives, Woodstock, Va. Microfilmed reproduction available at FHL. [This is a bound book of hand drawn maps showing property boundaries for grant map, ca. 1748-1915. It covers parts of Shenandoah, Warren and Page counties.]
Military[edit | edit source]
Revolutionary War[edit | edit source]
- A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services: With their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence, as Returned by the Marshalls of the Several Judicial Districts, Under the Act for Taking the Sixth Census]. 1841. Digital version at Google Books. 1967 reprint: FHL Collection 973 X2pc 1840. [See Virginia, Western District, Page County on pages 135-136.]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- List of Pensioners on the Roll, January 1, 1883; Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for Why Pensioned, the Post-Office Address, the Rate of Pension Per Month, and the Date of Original Allowance... Washington, D.C.: Government Printing Office, 1883. FHL Collection 973 M2Lp v. 5; digital versions at Google Books and Internet Archive. [See Vol. 5, Virginia, Orange County, p. 97. Identifies War of 1812 veterans living in this county in 1883.]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Regiments. Service men in Page County, Virginia Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Page County, Virginia Genealogy:
- - 7th Regiment, Virginia Cavalry (Ashby's) (Confederate). Company D (Captain Macon Jordan).
- - 10th Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate). Company K (Page Volunteers).
- - 33rd Regiment, Virginia Infantry (Confederate) Company H (Page Grays).
- - 35th Battalion, Virginia Cavalry (Confederate).
Records and histories are available, including:
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - Virginia, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861-1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
World War I[edit | edit source]
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Virginia, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1945 at FamilySearch — index and images
Miscellaneous Records[edit | edit source]
Naturalization[edit | edit source]
- Virginia Naturalization Petitions, 1906-1929
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
The Virginia Newspapers Project identifies local Page County, Virginia Genealogy newspapers.
Occupations[edit | edit source]
- Cutten, George Barton. The Silversmiths of Virginia (together with Watchmakers and Jewelers) from 1694 to 1850. Richmond, Va.: The Dietz Press, Incorporated, 1952. Available at FHL. [Includes a section on Luray silversmiths.]
Private Papers[edit | edit source]
Virginia, Historical Society Papers, 1607-2007
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Taxation[edit | edit source]
-  "Augusta County Tithables, 1777," Magazine of Virginia Genealogy, Vol. 42 Iss. 4 (Nov. 2004):307-310. Available at FHL. [Covers area of present-day eastern Rockingham and Page counties.]
-  Free Negroes and Mulattoes, within County, over 12 Years of Age, 1855, Mountain Memories. Luray VA: Spring 2004. Vol. 15 Iss. 2.
-  Free Negroes and Mulattoes, Modesitt District, with Ages, 1856, Mountain Memories. Luray VA: Spring 2004. Vol. 15 Iss. 2.
-  Free Negroes over 12, 1858, Mountain Memories. Luray VA: Winter 2001. Vol. 12 Iss. 1.
- [1858-1859] Ramey, Chester E. Page County, Virginia Land Tax Records for 1858 & 1859. Athens, Ga.: Iberian Pub. Co., 1995. Online at FamilySearch - free.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Indexes to Page County, Virginia Genealogy births, marriages, and deaths are available online. These collections are incomplete, but are easy to search. Most records can also be ordered electronically online as well. Courtesy: FamilySearch. See also How to order Virginia Vital Records
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1853-1866 - Virginia, Slave Birth Index, 1853-1866 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1865-1872 - Page County Birth Index 1865-1872. Batch C868640 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1912-1913 - Virginia, Birth Certificates, 1912-1913 at FamilySearch — index and images
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1660-1959 - Virginia, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1740-1850 - Virginia Marriages 1740-1850 (Ancestry) ($).
- 1831-1906 - Page County Marriage Index 1831-1906. Batch M868640 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1851-1900 - Virginia Marriages 1851-1900 (Ancestry) ($).
Divorce[edit | edit source]
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1864-1872 - Page County Death Index 1864-1872. Batch B868640 at FamilySearch - free.
- 1912-1987 - Virginia, Death Certificates, 1912-1987 at FamilySearch — index and images
Vital Record Substitutes[edit | edit source]
|For birth, marriage, and death record substitutes, see Bible Records, Cemeteries, Church Records, Newspapers, and Probate Records.|
Page County, Virginia Genealogy Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Page County, Virginia Genealogy Websites[edit | edit source]
- Page County, Virginia VAGenWeb
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Page County, VA History, Records, Facts and Genealogy (Familytree101)
References[edit | edit source]
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Page County, Virginia. Page 718 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Page County, Virginia . Page 710-723 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 715-720.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Richard L. Armstrong, 7th Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1992). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 88.
- Terrence V. Murphy, 10th Virginia Infantry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, c1989). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 55.
- John E. Divine, 35th Battalion Virginia Cavalry (Lynchburg, Va.: H.E. Howard, 1985). FHL Book 975.5 M2vr v. 19.
- Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/3/37/Igivirginia.pdf.