Pagham, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Pagham, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Westhampnett|
|Parish registers: 1707|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deaneries of Pagham and Tarring|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PAGHAM (St. Thomas à Becket), a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Aldwick, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 6 miles (S. S. E.) from Chichester contains the tythings of Aldwick, South Mundham, and Nytimber, and the hamlets of Lagness and Rosegreen. The parish is bounded on the south by the English Channel, and on the west by Pagham harbour, which is an estuary about a mile wide, formed by an irruption of the sea in the beginning of the fourteenth century. The church, which was to a great extent rebuilt in 1837, is a cruciform structure in the early English style, of considerable beauty, with a tower at the north end of the west front, surmounted by a shingled spire.
For history of the church Pagham St Thomas a Becket
The parish church of St Thomas a Becket has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) Pagham St Thomas a Becket
From this Ancient Parish were formed Aldwick St Richard in 1933 and Newtimber, Sussex
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Pagham, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|PAGHAM PARISH Online Records|
|PRTS||1610-1618, 1662-1909||1610-1619, 1662-1901||1610-1619, 1662-1911|
St Thomas a Becket Pagham
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1707-1978 Mar 1707-1963 Bur 1701-1969 Bishop's Transcripts 1610-1911
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 525-530. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.