Pakistan Census

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Pakistan Wiki Topics
900px-Flag of Pakistan.svg.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Pakistan Background
Local Research Resources

Historically, national censuses have been taken by the Pakistan government since 1881. Typically a census is a count and description of the population. Where available, census records can provide an ancestor’s name, age, occupation, marital status prior to the marriage, birthplace, and family member relationships. Census returns can also provide clues that lead to other records. A census may list selected people or the whole population. The percentage of people listed depends on the purpose of the census and on how careful the enumerator was.

The first Pakistan Census after the proclamation of independence of Pakistan was conducted in 1951. It was decreed that censuses have to be carried out once in 10 years. The second census was conducted in 1961. However the third one was conducted in 1972 because of the war with India. The fourth census was held in 1981.

The most recent, fifth census was conducted delayed in March 1988.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Pakistan Census

(After the partition of Paksitan)

1951[edit | edit source]

According to 1951 census, the Dominion of Pakistan (both West and East Pakistan) had a population of 75 million population, in which West Pakistan had a population of 33.7 million and East Pakistan (today Bangladesh) had a population of 42 million.[17][18] In 1951, Hindus constituted 12.9% of the Pakistani population (this includes East Pakistan, today Bangladesh), which made the Dominion of Pakistan the country with the world's second largest Hindu population after India. In the 1951 census, the population of West Pakistan was 1.6% Hindu, while East Pakistan (today Bangladesh) was 22.05% Hindu.[19] After the Partition of India in 1947, two-thirds of the Muslims resided in Pakistan (both West and East) and the remaining third resided in India.

1961[edit | edit source]

According to the 1961 census, the population of Pakistan was 93 million, with 42.8 million residing in West Pakistan and 50 million residing in East Pakistan. The literacy was 19.2%, in which East Pakistan had a literacy rate of 21.5% while West Pakistan had a literacy rate of 16.9% Hindus in East Pakistan were 18.4%[19] while the population growth rate was 2.4%.

1972[edit | edit source]

The scheduled 1971 census was postponed due to the political crisis of 1970 followed by the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971 and subsequent loss of East Pakistan. In 1970, the population was 65 million in the East Pakistan and 58 million in West Pakistan.

According to the 1972 census, the population of Pakistan was 65.3 million.[25] [26] After 1972, the Census Organization was merged into the Ministry of Interior.

1981[edit | edit source]

According to the 1981 census, the population of Pakistan was 83.783 million.

1998[edit | edit source]

Main article: 1998 Pakistan Census

According to the 1998 census, the population of Pakistan was 132,352,279.

2017[edit | edit source]

Main article: 2017 Census in Pakistan

According to the 2017 census official results, declared on August 25, 2017, the population of Pakistan was 207,774,520.

2027[edit | edit source]

The seventh national census is scheduled to take place in 2027.