To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Patrixbourne, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Patrixbourne

Guide to Patrixbourne, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Patrixbourne, Kent
Patrixbourne St Mary Kent.jpg
Patrixbourne St Mary Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bridge and Petham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Bridge
Registration District Bridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1556
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

PATRIXBOURNE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Bridge, hundred of Bridge and Petham, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent, 3¼ miles SE by E from Canterbury. [1]

Patrixbourne is a small settlement in the civil parish of Bekesbourne-with-Patrixbourne in the Canterbury district of Kent.

Patrixbourne St Mary is an Ancient Parish; Bridge was formed as a chapelry within this parish. The parish neighbours Canterbury St Paul, Kent Bekesbourne, Kent and Bridge, Kent

The church is 11th century with later extensions and restoration; the church was given to the Priory near Roen before 1200 and subsequently sold to Merton Priory in Surrey. The church of St Mary Patrixbourne Rad Bekesbourne has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See also Kent Archaeological Society and Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 277-286. Dated accessed: 9 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Bridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Patrixbourne parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
Patrixbourne Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1556-1911 1556-1911 1562-1927 1562-1927 1556-1812 1556-1812

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 537-540. Date accessed: 24 April 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.