To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Pembury, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Pembury, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pembury St Peter Kent.jpg

Parish History[edit | edit source]

PEMBURY (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Tonbridge, hundred of Washlingstone, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, 3½ miles SE from Tonbridge. [1]

Pembury is a village and civil parish in the Tunbridge Wells district of Kent. Pembury Wikipedia It included the hamlets of Upper Green, Lower Green, Hawkwell, Bo-Peep and Romford, the modern settlements of Woodhill Park, Ridgeway and Beagleswood were developed in the 20th century.

Pembury St Peter is an Ancient Parish with two Anglican churches both dedicated to St Peter and both parish churches.

The Old Church of St Peter Old Church Road has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building See Kent Churches website

The Upper church of Pembury St Peter, Hastings Road, Pembury has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building dates from 1846-1847 as a chapel of ease later parish church. See Kent Churches website

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 260-272. Date Accessed: 9 September 2013. at British History Online


The former workhouse for Tonbridge Poor Law Union, Kent at Pembury became a hospital in 1938 (Pembury County Hospital )and now houses Pembury Hospital Wikipedia.

The chapel at Pembury Hospital, Tonbridge Road, Pembury has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building and is a surviving example of a dedicated former workhouse and later hospital chapel commemorating staff and with several original features from the 1860s Gothic style construction and interior.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Pembury parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Pembury Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1716-1812
1716-1812

FS BTs 1716-1842, 1897-1904 1716-1842, 1897-1904 1716-1842, 1897-1904
FS PRs 1747-1854 1747-1837 1737-1886

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Pembury 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 27 April 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.

FamilySearch