Penobscot, Hancock County, Maine Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Penobscot, Hancock ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

MaineHancock CountyWaldo CountyKnox CountyPenobscot CountyPiscataquis CountyWashington CountyPenobscot Indian Island ReservationTownship 4 North Division and North Strip (aka Oqiton Township)Township 3 NDTownship 41 MDTownship 40 MDTownship 39 MDTownship 32 MDGreat PondTownship 34 MDTownship 35 MDTownship 28 MD BPPAuroraAmherstMariavilleOsbornTownship 22 MDTownship 16 MDEastbrookWalthamOtisDedhamBucksportVerona IslandOrlandEllsworthFletchers Landing TownshipFranklinTownship 9 SDTownship 10 SDTownship 7 SDGouldsboroWinter HarborSorrentoSullivanHancockLamoineTrentonBar HarborMount DesertCranberry IslesSouthwest HarborTremontSwan's IslandFrenchboroSurryPenobscotBlue HillCastineBrooksvilleSedgwickEagle Island TownshipBrooklinDeer IsleStoningtonIsle au HautVinalhavenNorth HavenIslesboroLincolnvilleNorthportBelfastSearsportStockton SpringsProspectSwanvilleFrankfortMonroeWinterportSteubenMilbridgeHarringtonCherryfieldColumbiaDebloisTownship 18 MDTownship 19 MDTownship 25 Middle DivisionTownship 24 MDBeddingtonDevereau TownshipTownship 30 MDDay Block Township (Township 31 MD BPP)Township 37 MDTownship 36 MDTownship 43 MDTownship 42 MDSakom Township (Township 5 NDTownship 6 NDGrand Lake Stream (Plantation)Township 6 R1 NTalmadgeOrneville TownshipMedfordMiloLake View PlantationBrownvilleNewburghHampdenOrringtonHoldenBrewerEddingtonCliftonCarmelHermonBangorVeazieBradleyOronoGlenburnKenduskeagLevantOld TownMilfordGreenfield TownshipSummit TownshipGrand Falls TownshipCorinthCharlestonHudsonBradfordAltonArgyle TownshipGreenbushLagrangeEdinburgPassadumkeagHowlandMaxfieldEnfieldSeboeis PlantationTownship 2 R8 NWPMattamiscontis TownshipChesterLowellLincolnBurlingtonTwombly Ridge Township (3 R1 N)LeeSpringfieldLakevilleCarroll PlantationWhitney Township (aka Pukakon) (5 R1 NBPP)Kossuth TownshipTopsfield
Modern town borders of Penobscot in Hancock County, Maine.


Brief History[edit | edit source]

Penobscot was first organized from Township Number 3 East of Penobscot River, Livermore Survey (T3 EPR LS) (also known as Township Number 3 West of Union River) as Majorbigwaduce Plantation (also known as Magorbigwaduce, aka Magabagwaduce, aka Maja Bagadoose) prior to 1787. In 1787 this plantation was incorporated as the Town of Penobscot.[1] Penobscot is a town and former plantation on the southwest side of Hancock County on the eastern shore of the Penobscot River and surrounding the headwaters of the Bagaduce River. It was settled in the 1760s by British subjects from west of the Penobscot River. It is named for the Native Americans who were there when European settlement began (first in Castine in 1613).[2]

Town boundary changes: Penobscot set off land to form Castine in 1796; and more land to the same in 1817, 1839, and 1927. Penobscot set off land to form Brooksville in 1817. Land was also set off to Surry in 1843. Parts of Surry and Blue Hill were annexed in 1845; and part of Sedgwick was annexed in 1857.

Additional data on Penobscot, Maine can be found in WikiPedia: the Free Encyclopedia.

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Historically, the largest religious groups in Maine were the Congregational, Baptist, Roman Catholic, and Methodist churches. For general information about Maine denominations, view the Maine Church Records wiki page.

To see the churches in Penobscot, visit FamilySearch Places.

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. The following are church records available online for the town of Penobscot:

City Directories[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

The following are online land records for the town of Penobscot:

Libraries and Historical Societies[edit | edit source]

Local genealogy may be accessed at http://sites.rootsweb.com/~mecpenob/ and http://www.penobscot-maine.com/genealogy.

Maps[edit | edit source]

The following are online maps of the town of Penobscot:

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

In Maine, most probate records are kept at the town level. The following are online probate records for the town of Penobscot:

Town Histories[edit | edit source]

Town Records[edit | edit source]

In Maine, most records are kept at the town level and generally began being kept at the founding of the town. These records may include the following:

  • Births
  • Marriages
  • Deaths
  • Burials
  • Cemetery records
  • Appointments
  • Earmarks
  • Estrays (stray animals)
  • Freemens' oaths (men eligible to vote)
  • Land records
  • Mortgages
  • Name changes
  • Care of the poor
  • School records
  • Surveys
  • Tax lists
  • Town meeting minutes
  • Voter registrations
  • Warning outs (of town)

The following are Penobscot town records available online:

Town Clerk[edit | edit source]

The town clerk is responsible for these records, and so most originals can be found at the town clerk's office.

Town of Penobscot Town Clerk
1 Southern Bay Road
Penobscot, ME 04476
Phone: (207)326-4364
Penobscot Website

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Births[edit | edit source]

Marriages[edit | edit source]

Deaths[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. name="Penobscot">Penobscot, Hancock County, Maine in Maine Genealogy (accessed 12 November 2013).
  2. Internet Archive Full History of Penobscot County, Maine