Pershore St Andrew, Worcestershire Genealogy
Guide to pershore St Andrew, Worcestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Pershore St Andrew, Worcestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Pershore|
|Parish registers: 1641; Separate registers exist for Pershore Holy Cross beginning 1540|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608; Separate records exist for Pershore Holy Cross beginning 1616|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Worcestershire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PERSHORE, a market-town, and the head of a union, partly in the parish of St. Andrew, and partly in that of Holy Cross, Upper division of the hundred of Pershore, Pershore and E. divisions of the county of Worcester, 9 miles (S. E.) from Worcester, and 102 (N. W. by W.) from London. There is a place of worship for Baptists.
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Pershore St Andrew parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Pershore St Andrew Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Records are also available at the The Hive (where the Worcestershire Archive and Archaeology Service is located).
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images (coverage may vary)
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Butler, E. L. My Grandparents. James Butler 1834-1912. Article is a history of James Butler and his descendants, of Pershore, Worcestershire, and includes the Pebworth Buttlers as well. Article covers years 1730/31-1912. Article is to be found in the Hampshire Family Historian, vol.X,no.2 August,1983, pages 56-59, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Worcestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Worcester Branch of the Birmingham and Midland Society for Genealogy and Heraldry
Add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed and adapted: 15 October 2013.
- Searching Parish Records online (Worcestershire) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.