Peterborough (St. John the Baptiste), Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Peterborough (St. John the Baptiste), Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Peterborough (St. John the Baptiste), Cambridgeshire|
|Hundred||Nassaburgh or Peterborough Liberty|
|County||Northamptonshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Peterborough|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1707|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PETERBOROUGH (St. John the Baptist), a city having separate jurisdiction, the seat of a diocese, and the head of a union and of the hundred of Nassaburgh, or liberty of Peterborough, in the N. division of the county of Northampton, 42 miles NE by E from Northampton, and 79 N by W from London, with the precinct of Minster-close, and exclusively of the chapelries of Dogsthorpe, Eastfield with Newark, and Longthorpe, in that part of the parish which is without the city. The city comprises the parish of St. John the Baptist. There are places of worship in the town for Baptists, Independents, Wesleyans, and other Methodists.
Although Peterborough is currently in Cambridgeshire, it was historically located in the county of Northamptonshire. For records, see Peterborough (St John the Baptist), Northamptonshire Genealogy.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
For church records, see Peterborough (St John the Baptist), Northamptonshire Genealogy.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 558-564. Date accessed and adapted: 10 July 2013.