Pickett County, Tennessee Genealogy
Pickett County, Tennessee ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Guide to Pickett County (established 1879) genealogy, history, and courthouse sources including birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, wills, deeds and land records, Civil War records, Revolutionary War records, family histories, cemeteries, churches, tax records, newspapers, and obituaries.
|Pickett County, Tennessee|
Location in the state of Tennessee
Location of Tennessee in the U.S.
|Founded:||February 27, 1879|
- 1 Description
- 2 Pickett County, Tennessee Record Dates
- 3 County Courthouse
- 4 History
- 5 Places/Localities
- 6 Resources
- 6.1 Research Guides
- 6.2 African American
- 6.3 Cemeteries
- 6.4 Census
- 6.5 Church
- 6.6 Court
- 6.7 Family Histories
- 6.8 Land
- 6.9 Local Histories
- 6.10 Maps
- 6.11 Military
- 6.12 Newspapers
- 6.13 Periodicals
- 6.14 Probate Records
- 6.15 Taxation
- 6.16 Vital Records
- 7 Societies and Libraries
- 8 Websites
- 9 References
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Howard L. Pickett, a member of the state legislature who had been instrumental in the county's formation. The County is located in the north central area of the state. 
Pickett County, Tennessee Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Pickett County Courthouse, Byrdstown, Tenn.
|Pickett County Courthouse, Byrdstown, Tenn]]
Pickett County Courthouse
1 Courthouse Square
Byrdstown, TN 38549
County Health Department has birth records.
County Clerk has marriage and probate records from 1935.
Clerk and Master and Clerk Circuit Court has divorce records.
Clerk Circuit Court has court records.
Register of Deeds has land records. 
Pickett County Clerk
Marriage and probate records
1 Courthouse Square, Suite 201
Byrdstown, TN 38549
Pickett County Register of Deeds
1 Courthouse Square, Suite 204
Byrdstown, TN 38549
Pickett County Circuit Court Clerk
1 Courthouse Square, Suite 100
Byrdstown, TN 38549
Mon., Tues., Thurs., and Fri. 8 a.m.-4 p.m.
Wed. and Sat. 8 a.m.-noon
History[edit | edit source]
Middle Tennessee county.
The county is named after "Tennessee state legislator Howell L. Pickett."
Parent County[edit | edit source]
County Pronunciation[edit | edit source]
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
For animated maps illustrating Tennessee county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Tennessee County Boundary Maps" (1777-1985) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
1934 Fire damaged courthouse records.
- Lost marriage records: 1879 to 1933
- Lost probate records: 1879 to 1932
For suggestions about research in places that suffered historic record losses, see:
- Burned Counties. By Michael John Neill. Online at: Family History Circle.
- When the Records are Gone. By Arlene Eakle. Online at: Tennessee Genealogy Blog.
- Burned Counties Research in the FamilySearch Research Wiki.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Research Guides[edit | edit source]
- Genealogical "Fact Sheets" About Tennessee Counties: Pickett County, courtesy: TSLA. (Identifies published county histories, published local records, census records, newspapers and local records on microfilm, and select manuscripts.)
African American[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|See Tennessee Cemeteries for more information.|
Additional Cemetery Resources
- Tennessee Cemeteries - Hometown Locator
Census[edit | edit source]
1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 federal population censuses of Pickett County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Tennessee Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than nationwide online indexes.
See Tennessee Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.
1810 - 1891
1890 - Lost, but substitutes are available:
- Reed, Sue S. Enumeration of Male Inhabitants of Twenty-one Years of Age and Upward, Citizens of Tennessee, January 1, 1891, as Provided for by an Act of General Assembly of Tennessee, Passed January 15, 1891, and Approved January 22, 1891. 8 vols. Houston, Texas: S.S. Reed, 1989. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2r v. 6 1891. Pickett County is included in Vol. 6.
- Sistler, Byron H. and Barbara Sistler. 1890 Civil War Veterans Census, Tennessee. Evanston, Ill.: Byron Sister and Associates, 1978. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 X2s 1890.
1891 Male Voters
Church[edit | edit source]
Court[edit | edit source]
Family Histories[edit | edit source]
It is anticipated that this bibliography will eventually identify all known family histories published about residents of this county. Use this list to:
- Locate publications about direct ancestors
- Find the most updated accounts of an ancestor's family
- Identify publications, to quote Elizabeth Shown Mills, about an ancestor's "FAN Club" (Friends, Associates, and Neighbors)
- History and Genealogy of Families in Pickett County, Tennessee. Tenn.: Pickett County Book Committee, 1991. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8687 D2h.
- Huddleston - Huddleston, George. Huddleston Family Tables. Concord, NH: Rumford Press, 1933. Available at FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 H866h 1973; FHL US/CAN Film 928072; digital version at Ancestry ($); and Heritage Quest Online ($).
- Smith - Smith, Oma Ivadell. Smith-Garrett and Allied Families of Overton, Fentress and Pickett Counties, Tennessee: The Genealogy of Joseph Albert Smith and Nova Catherine Garrett. Jacksonville, Fla.: O. Smith, 1979. FHL FAM HIST Book 929.273 Sm61e.
- Swann - de Place, Velma LeeVerne. One Swann Family of America. Typescript, microfilmed in 1968. FHL US/CAN Film 547150 Item 1.
Land[edit | edit source]
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
War of 1812[edit | edit source]
- Embry, Hermione D. "War of 1812 - Tennessee Pensioners on List - January 2, 1883," Ansearchin' News, Vol. 8, No. 2 (Apr. 1961):49-52. FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a v. 8 (1961); digital version at journal website. Includes Pickett County pensioners (p. 50).
- Transcription typed and formatted by Harold Keisling. Third? Regiment Tennessee Militia, Capt. Wiley Huddelston's Company Raised from men who were from Overton, Pickett and Fentress County, Tennessee. Courtesy: TNGenWeb
Civil War[edit | edit source]
- 1861 - 1865 - Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - Tennessee, Civil War Service Records of Union Soldiers, 1861-1865 at FamilySearch — index
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Confederate Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1861 - 1865 - U.S., Union Soldiers Compiled Service Records, 1861-1865 at Ancestry — index (free)
- 1891 - 1965 - Tennessee, Confederate Pension Applications, Soldiers and Widows, 1891-1965 at FamilySearch — images
- 1890 Census for Pickett, Fentress, & Clay Counties. Here is a listing of all Union Civil War veterans and their wives. It lists name, rank, company, town they lived in, any ailments, and county.
- USGenWeb Archives, Pickett County Tennessee Archives. Pensioners.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Tennessee Confederate Pension Applications: Pickett County. Includes soldier's name, county, pension #, unit or widow.
- United States Pension Bureau, List of Pensioners on the Roll January 1, 1883: Giving the Name of Each Pensioner, the Cause for... (Washington Printing Office; 1883). Online at Internet Archive. Pickett County, page 368.
- TNGenWeb, Pickett County, Tennessee Military.
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Many Tennessee newspapers are filmed and available at TSLA. Most of these newspapers may be accessed by interlibrary loan to libraries within Tennessee, although there are some newspapers which are not available in or outside of Tennessee. For further information regarding interlibrary loan policies and newspapers not available for interlibrary loan click here. For a list of newspapers available at the archives for Pickett County click on the following town:
Periodicals[edit | edit source]
Tap into the minds of local experts. Editors of genealogical periodicals publish unique sources that researchers who are new to their area would not likely discover. This type of material may be found in local, regional, or statewide genealogical society journals. The following periodicals cover this county:
- Ansearchin' News
- Genealogical articles with abstracts of Pickett County, Tennessee records have been published in Ansearchin' News, the quarterly magazine of the Tennessee Genealogical Society. To view a list of these articles, visit their county index. To read digitized versions of the first 36 years of articles (Vols. 1-36), browse their archive or conduct a surname search. The Family History Library has a complete collection of the Ansearchin' News quarterly FHL US/CAN Book 976.8 B2a.
- Overton County Historical Society Newsletter
- "This newsletter, although called 'Overton County,' covers all the area in Overton, Fentress, and Pickett County, Tennessee." - Vol. 7, no. 4 p. 2
Family History Library has volume 1 - 8 FHL US/CAN 976.8684 B2n.
- Indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
- Indexed in PERiodical Source Index (PERSI).
- For further information, see Overton County Historical Society website
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
The Pickett County Court has responsibility for the probate records.
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Birth[edit | edit source]
Marriage[edit | edit source]
The original Pickett County marriage records are kept at the County Courthouse. Due to fire, the marriage records of Pickett County are lost until 1934.
State Marriage Records
- 1625-1966 - Tennessee, United States Marriages at FindMyPast — index $
- 1780 - 2002 - Many county marriage records are indexed with images at Ancestry.com's Tennessee State Marriages, 1780-2002. ($) Be aware that this index is not complete for many counties.
- 1790 - 1950 - Tennessee County Marriages, 1790-1950 at FamilySearch.org - covers all counties in Tennessee.
The following Pickett County marriage records are microfilmed:
- 1934 - 1995 - Available at the TSLA.
- 1934 - 1961 - Available at the Family History Library. Some volumes are indexed.FHL 1928807 Includes index.
Pickett County is not included in Sistler's Early Middle Tennessee Marriages.
Death[edit | edit source]
For deaths of Methodists in Pickett County between the 1830s and the 1920s, try searching the following records:
- 1847 - 1814 - Smith, Jonathan K.T. Genealogical Abstracts from Reported Deaths, the Nashville Christian Advocate. (1847-1914) 10 vols. Jackson, Tenn.: J.K.T. Smith, 1997-2003. FHL US/CAN Books 976.855/N1 V48s 1847-1851 ff; digital versions at David Donahue Memorial: Tennessee Records Repository. Website expands upon the publications and includes deaths from the 1830's, 1840's, 1910's and 1920's.
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
Pickett County Public Library
1331 Beason Rd.
Byrdstown, TN 38549
Middle Tennessee Genealogical Society
PO Box 330948
Nashville, TN, USA 37203-7507
The society serves the 40 counties of middle Tennessee of which Pickett County is one. It publishes The Middle Tennessee Journal of Genealogy and History, a quarterly containing articles of genealogical and historical interest. Little-known Tennessee records are published and indexed, along with family genealogies, Bible records and material submitted by members. There is an alphabetical Index to articles in the Journal 1988-summer 2005
Family History Centers
[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.
- For current information about a center near you, go to the Family History Center Map
Websites[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Catalog (FamilySearch) — The catalog is genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) This catalog is different than the indexed Historical Records.
- Pickett County, TN Family History and Genealogy Message Board (Ancestry)
- Pickett County, TNGenWeb (USGenWeb)
- Rootwalker: Genealogy Pages for Northern Middle TN Free Genealogy Resources for the Region
- RootsWeb Mailing List: TN-ROOTWALKER-L (North Central Tennessee Genealogy List)
- RootsWeb Mailing List: TN-UPPER-CUMBERLAND-L (Upper Cumberland Tennessee Region Genealogy List)
- Pickett County TN Genealogy (ldsgenealogy.com)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Pickett, Tennessee" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pickett_County,_Tennessee accessed 02 Jan 2019
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pickett County, Tennessee. Page 638-645 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 637-640.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Pickett County, Tennessee page 643, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- "List of counties in Tennessee," Wikipedia.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), 643. (FHL Book 973 D27e 2002). WorldCat entry.
- Voice of Lynnae Weller, Kingsport, Tenn. (2010).
- Voice of Gene Black, FamilySearch employee, former resident of Bristol, Tenn. (2010).
- [http://sos.tn.gov/products/tsla/lost-records-courthouse-fires-and-disasters-tennessee Lost Records: Courthouse Fires and Disasters in Tennessee] in Tennessee State Library and Archives in Tennessee Secretary of State (accessed 31 March 2014).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Pickett County, Tennessee," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pickett_County,_Tennessee, accessed 8 December 2019.