Pillerton Hersey with Pillerton Priors, Warwickshire Genealogy
|Pillerton Hersey with Pillerton Priors, Warwickshire|
|County||Warwickshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Shipston on Stour|
|Registration District||Shipston on Stour|
|Parish registers: 1539; Separate registers exist for Pillerton Priors beginning 1594|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1611; Separate records exist for Pillerton Priors beginning 1613|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Worcester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Warwickshire County Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PILLERTON-HERSEY (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Shipston-upon-Stour, Kineton division of the hundred of Kineton, S. division of the county of Warwick, 3¼ miles (S. W. by W.) from Kineton. The living is a vicarage, with that of Pillerton-Priors annexed.
Famed topographer Samuel A. Lewis provides a unique 19th Century historical perspective for this parish--which was united to Pillerton Priors St Mary Magdalene Parish by 1848:
PILLERTON-HERSEY (St. Mary; parish registers commence 1539), a parish, in the union of Shipston-upon-Stour, Kineton division of the hundred of Kineton, S. division of the county of Warwick, 3¼ miles (S. W. by W.) from Kineton; containing 217 inhabitants. The parish comprises 1389 acres, and is situated to the west of the lofty range called Edge-Hill, of historical celebrity. This [parish was annexed with] Pillerton-Priors Parish.
Pillerton-Hersey with Pillerton Priors are parishes in Shipston-on-Stour district, Warwickshire; they are adjacent to the Fosse way. Pillerton-Hersey is 3 miles S W of Kineton while Pillerton Priors is 4 miles S W of Kineton. There is a Wesleyan chapel that was built in 1861 in Pillerton-Priors.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Pillerton Priors and Hersey parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials (Ancestry) - (£).|
|Pillerton Priors and Hersey Parish Online Records|
Butlers Marston and Pillerton Priors parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Butlers Marston and Pillerton Priors Parish Online Records|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Warwickshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 567-571. Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 567-571. Date accessed: 12 December 2012.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, (1870-72). Date accessed and adapted: 12 November 2013.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1535-1812,', Ancestry, accessed 13 June 2014.
- 'Warwickshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1910,', Ancestry, accessed 1 July 2014.