Pinellas County, Florida Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Pinellas County, Florida ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

County Facts
County seat: Clearwater
Organized: May 23, 1911
Parent County(s): Hillsborough[1]
Neighboring Counties
Hillsborough  • Pasco
See County Maps
Courthouse
FloridaPinellasCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Fl-pinellas.png
Adoption
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
Adopt a page today

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The county was named for Punta Piñal (Spanish for "Point of Pines" or "Piney Point"). The County is located in the Westcentral area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Pinellas County Courthouse
315 Ct St
Clearwater, FL 34616-5165
Phone: 727-464-3377
Pinellas County Website

Clerk Circuit Court has marriage, divorece, probate, court and land records from 1912. [3]

Pinellas County, Florida Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1899 1912 1899 1912 1912 1912 1830
*Statewide registration of births and deaths began in 1899. General compliance by 1920.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:[6]

Cities
Towns
Unincorporated communities
  • St. George
  • Seminole Park
  • Wall Springs
  • Walsingham
Census-designated places


History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Pinellas, Florida online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
TombstoneTranscriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Florida Cemeteries for more information

The following web site may have additional information on Pinellas County cemeteries.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Historical populations
Census Pop.
1920 28,265
1930 62,149 119.9%
1940 91,852 47.8%
1950 159,249 73.4%
1960 374,665 135.3%
1970 522,329 39.4%
1980 728,531 39.5%
1990 851,659 16.9%
2000 921,482 8.2%
2010 916,542 −0.5%
Source: "Wikipedia.org".

For tips on accessing census records online, see: Florida Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.
List of Churches and Church Parishes

Ward and Branch Records of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

  • St. Petersburg

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

  • NARA Ships Passenger Lists - These passenger lists cover:
    • 1834-1897 - Immigration of Russians to the United States
    • 1/12/1846-12/31/1851 - Irish Famine
    • 1850-1897 - Germans to the United States
    • 1855-1900 - Italians to the United States

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for most counties. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Pasco CountyHillsborough CountyManatee CountyFL PINELLAS.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War

World War I

World War II

Korean War

Vietnam War

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

  • Early Florida Newspapers at the Florida State Library USGenWeb

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Online Indexes and Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Social Security Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, Florida State Archives, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Listed below are archives in Pinellas County. For state-wide archival repositories, see Florida Archives and Libraries.

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.

Local Centers and Libraries

St Petersburg Florida Family History Center
9000 106th Ave N
Largo FL 33777-1147
Phone: 727-399-8018
E-Mail:FL_StPetersburg@familyhistorymail.org
Website

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Listed below are libraries in Pinellas County. For state-wide library facilities, see Florida Archives and Libraries.

The Largo Public Library
120 Central Park Drive
Largo, FL 33771-2110
Phone: 727-586-7410
Website

Pinellas Public Library
1330 Cleveland Street
Clearwater, FL 33755-5103
Phone: 727-441-8408
website

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

Listed below are societies in Pinellas County. For state-wide genealogical societies, see Florida Societies.
Pinellas Genealogy Society
c/o Largo Library
120 Central Park Drive
Largo, Fl 33771-2110
Blog FacebookWebsite

The Pinellas Genealogy Society is allied with the Largo Public Library for the promotion of genealogical research and providing genealogy education. The combined resources of the Library and the Society make the resulting Genealogy Center the most extensive in Pinellas County, Florida, and one of the top in the state.

Suncoast Genealogy Society, Inc.
PO Box 1294
Palm Harbor Library
2330 Nebraska Avenue
Palm Harbor, FL 34682-1294
website

Florida Historical Society
435 Brevard Ave.
Cocoa FL 32922
Phone: 321-690-1971
Website

Florida State Genealogical Society
P.O. Box 940927
Maitland, FL 32794-0927
Phone: 407-494-3747
Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Pinellas County," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia 04/26/2017.
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Florida.At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Wikipedia contributors, "Pinellas County County, Florida," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, wikipedia accessed Feb 1 2018.