To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Plaistow, Sussex Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Plaistow, Sussex)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Plaistow, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Plaistow Holy Trinity

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Plaistow Holy Trinity replaced an earlier medieval chapelry of Kirdford, Sussex and dates from 1853-1854.

Plaistow Holy Trinity

Plaistow village is within the civil parish of Plaistow and Ifold in the Chichester district of West Sussex.

Plaistow Sussex Online Parish clerks (OPC)

Plaistow Wikipedia

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

See Sussex Census and search for Kirdford, Sussex prior to 1854

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Contributor: Add any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.