To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Platte County, Missouri Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Platte County, Missouri ancestry, genealogy and family history, birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

{{{link}}}
County Facts
County seat: Platte City
Organized: December 31, 1838
Parent County(s): Platte Purchase[1]
Neighboring Counties
Atchison (KS)  • Buchanan  • Clay  • Clinton  • Leavenworth (KS)  • Wyandotte (KS)
See County Maps
Courthouse
MissouriPlatteCourthouse.jpg
Location Map
Missouri Platte County Map.svg.png
Adoption

County Information[edit | edit source]

Description[edit | edit source]

The County was named for Platte River or Platte Purchase. The County is located in the northwest area of the state.[2]

County Courthouse[edit | edit source]

Platte County Courthouse
415 3rd Street
PO Box 30CH
Platte City, MO 64079
Phone: 816-858-2232
Platte County Website

County Clerk has birth records 1883-1887 and death records 1883-1888.
Recorder of Deeds has marriage and land records.
Clerk of the Circuit Court has divorce records.
Probate Judge has probate and court records.[3]

Platte County, Missouri Record Dates[edit | edit source]

Information for this chart was taken from various sources, often containing conflicting dates. This information should be taken as a guide and should be verified by contacting the county and/or the state government agency.

Known Beginning Dates for Major County Records[4]
Birth* Marriage Death* Court Land Probate Census
1883 1839 1883 1839 1839 1839 1830
Statewide registration started in 1910 for births and deaths. General compliance for births by 1927 and deaths by 1911.

Record Loss[edit | edit source]

There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.

Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]

  • 1838 Platte County was created December 31, 1838 from the Platte purchase.
  • County seat: Platte City[5]

For animated maps illustrating Missouri county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Missouri County Boundary Maps" (1804-1889) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Populated Places[edit | edit source]

The following are locations in Platte County, Missouri:

History Timeline[edit | edit source]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Bible Records[edit | edit source]

Biographies[edit | edit source]

Business, Commerce, and Occupations[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries[edit | edit source]

Cemeteries of Platte County, Missouri online and in print
Tombstone Transcriptions Online
Tombstone Transcriptions in Print (Often more complete)
List of Cemeteries in the County
See Missouri Cemeteries for more information

Census Records[edit | edit source]

For tips on accessing Platte County, Missouri Genealogy census records online, see: Missouri Census.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Missouri denominations, view the Missouri Church Records wiki page.

Catholic
Deister Settlement

  • 1847-1853 Deister Settlement Catholic Church Baptism Index 1847-1853. Batch C515021 at FamilySearch.[6]

Holy Trinity Teeleum Landeing, Weston

  • 1847- 1876 Holy Trinity Teeleum Landeing, Weston, Baptism Index 1847-1876. Batch C515031 at FamilySearch.
  • 1848-1885 Holy Trinity Teeleum Landeing, Weston, Marriage Index 1848-1885. Batch M515031 at FamilySearch.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Directories[edit | edit source]

Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]

Ethnic, Political, and Religious Groups[edit | edit source]

Funeral Homes[edit | edit source]

Genealogies[edit | edit source]

Guardianship[edit | edit source]

Land and Property Records[edit | edit source]

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Missouri Land and Property for information about records of land transfers from the government to private ownership. After that transfer, transactions were usually recorded and are currently housed at the county courthouse.

Local Histories[edit | edit source]

Local histories are available for Platte County, Missouri Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the Wiki page section Missouri Local Histories.

  • Annals of Platte County, Missouri. By William McClung Paxton. 1897. Available online at FamilySearch (downloads as a large file in a viewer); Google Books. Also available as FHL 1000300.
  • A Civic History of Kansas City, Missouri. Available online at Ancestry ($)
  • History of Clay and Platte Counties, Missouri. 1885. St. Louis, [Missouri] : National Historical Co. Available online at FamilySearch
  • Kansas City, Missouri : its History and its People, 1808-1908. Available online at Ancestry ($)
  • Platte County. [1929]. Platte City, Mo. : Landmark. Available online at FamilySearch

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Doniphan CountyAtchison CountyLeavenworth CountyWyandotte CountyClay CountyClinton CountyBuchanan CountyMO PLATTE.PNG
Click a neighboring county
for more resources

Migration[edit | edit source]

Early migration routes to and from Platte County, Missouri Genealogy for European settlers included:

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Civil War[edit | edit source]

Online Records

Regiments

Service men in Platte County, Missouri Genealogy served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Platte County, Missouri:

- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company G
- 18th Regiment, Missouri Infantry (Union), Company K
- 3rd Provisional Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company A
- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company B
- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company C
- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company D
- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company E
- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company F
- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company G
- 39th Regiment, Enrolled Missouri Militia (Union), Company H

World War II[edit | edit source]

Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]

Newspapers[edit | edit source]

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Platte County, Missouri Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries[edit | edit source]

Other Records[edit | edit source]

Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Probate records include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. For further information, see United States Probate Records.

In Missouri, probate records have usually been recorded by the clerks of the probate courts, but in some counties the common pleas or circuit courts handled this function. They are frequently indexed.

Online Probate Records

School Records[edit | edit source]

Tax Records[edit | edit source]

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Missouri Taxation.

Vital Records[edit | edit source]

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths. For additional guidance on researching and using vital records, see United States Vital Records or How to order Missouri Vital Records.

St. Louis and Kansas City recorded births and deaths starting as early as 1850 for deaths and 1870 for births.  The Missouri Department of Health began keeping birth and death records in 1909. County records vary by year and the county. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Missouri Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office or order electronically online.

Birth[edit | edit source]

Marriage[edit | edit source]

Death[edit | edit source]

Divorce[edit | edit source]

Research Facilities[edit | edit source]

Archives[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers[edit | edit source]

Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Mid-Continent Public Libraries in Platte City, Weston, and several locations in Southern Platte County.

Museums[edit | edit source]

Societies[edit | edit source]

  • Platte County Historical Society
    Website
  • Northland Genealogy Society
    P.O. Box 14121
    Parkville, MO 64152
    Phone: 816-741-3981
    Website

Websites[edit | edit source]

  • Missouri Digital Heritage. Free. digital images of many types of records from institutions across the State
  • MOGenWeb. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
  • USGenWeb Archives. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • FamilySearch Catalog . Free. - The FamilySearch catalog contains descriptions and access information for all genealogical materials (including books, online materials, microfilm, microfiche, and publications) in their collection.  Use Historical Records to search for specific individuals in genealogical records
  • RootsWeb resources. Free. Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
  • Linkpendium. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • CyndisList. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
  • StateofUS. Free. family history resources and government records
  • Missouri Genealogy. Free. Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)

Research Guides[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. Wikipedia contributors, "Platte, Missouri," in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Platte_County,_Missouri. accessed 9/13/2018
  3. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  4. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Platte County, Missouri. Page 397-407 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 393-397.
  5. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Missouri. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  6. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/wiki/en/images/d/d8/Igimissourij.pdf.
  7. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in Oregon National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/oreg/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).
  8. National Park Service, "(Auto Tour Route) Maps" in California National Historic Trail at http://www.nps.gov/cali/planyourvisit/maps.htm (accessed 18 July 2011).