Police Registration Forms

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Copenhagen: Police Registration Forms[edit | edit source]

The police registration forms (Politiets registerblade) are one of the most important records used in Copenhagen research.

Searches in the registration forms can be made online. It's possible to use GoogleTranslate if you aren't familiar with Danish.

The registration forms must not be confused with the police census records which is another type of record.

Background[edit | edit source]

The Police Registration Forms (Politiets registerblade) is a register kept on loose sheets of paper at the Copenhagen City Archive. They were taken by the Copenhagen police of every resident in Copenhagen, male as well as female, in the period 1890-1923.

Children under the age of 10 were not listed. Married women and young children between 10 to 14 years old were listed in the form of the husband/the father. Young people were given their own form at the age of 14.

Each police district (that is Kreds) had their own registrations forms, sorted alphabetically by surname. The registers were constantly kept up to date. Every time a new resident came to the district, a child reached 14 years or a married woman was divorced or widowed a new registration form was made.

If a resident came from another police district in Copenhagen, the registration form followed the resident from the old to the new district. When the resident left Copenhagen the registration form remained in the police district where he or she latest had resided. If the resident moved back to Copenhagen, the police found the old registration form and added the new addresses.

In 1923 the Police Registration Forms were replaced by the Civil Registration (Folkeregister).

What You Typically Find
[edit | edit source]

The typical information listed in the forms is:
Name
Date of birth
Place of birth
Occupation
Addresses in Copenhagen 1890-1923

For internal use the police would also add various notes to the records.

Access[edit | edit source]

The police registration forms have been digitized by Copenhagen City Archive and are available online - click here. It's possible to search by name, date of birth, place of birth and occupation.

References[edit | edit source]

Read more about the Police Registration Forms.

Read more at the Copenhagen City Archives Wikipedia .