Ponce, Puerto Rico Genealogy
| Puerto Rico Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Puerto Rico Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Guide to Municipality of Ponce family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
Contents
History[edit | edit source]
Originally part of the Taíno Guaynia region, which stretched along the southern coast of Puerto Rico. Taino leaders greeted Spanish conquistador Juan Ponce de León when he came to the island in 1508. In 1670, a small chapel was constructed in the small settlement. At the time of the U.S. invasion and occupation of Puerto Rico in 1898 (during the Spanish–American War), Ponce was the largest city in the island. The municipality of Ponce became the first in Puerto Rico to obtain its autonomy in October 1992. Population 166,300. [1]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
More recent records are protected by privacy laws. However, close relatives can request them for genealogy.
Online Records[edit | edit source]
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, 1805-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registrations, 1885-2001, index, incomplete
- Puerto Rico, Civil Registration, Ponce, browse images
- Puerto Rico Births and Baptisms, 1938-1947 — index
Church Records[edit | edit source]
- Catholic Church Records, Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe, Ponce, Puerto Rico,1753-1948 browse images
- Catholic Church Records, Nuestra Señora del Carmen, Playa de Ponce, Puerto Rico,1883-1941 browse images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Search the 1910, 1920, 1930, and 1940 census records for information about your Puerto Rican ancestors who were there during that time period. Click here to go to the Puerto Rico Census Page
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Ponce, Puerto Rico," Wikipedia, The Free Encylopedia,https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ponce,_Puerto_Rico, accessed 12/23/20.
