Portsea St Paul, Hampshire Genealogy
Guide to Portsea St Paul, Hampshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Portsea St Paul, Hampshire|
|Hundred||Pre-1834 - Portsdown; Portsmouth Liberty; Portsmouth Borough; Post-1833 - Portsmouth Borough|
|Poor Law Union||Portsea Island|
|Registration District||Portsea Island|
|Parish registers: None|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Hampshire Record Office|
Parish History =[edit | edit source]
PORTSEA (St. Paul), The church, dedicated to St. Paul, in the suburb of Southsea, was erected in 1822. There are places of worship for Baptists, Independents (the principal of which, in King-street, is one of the largest and handsomest meeting-houses in the kingdom),Wesleyans, and Roman Catholics; and a synagogue ..
| This section requires expansion with:
a summary overview of the history of this parish.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Baptisms of the Children of H.M. Forces - St Mary's Portsea, 1841-1843 including St Paul's Chapel. Article lists the date, childs name, parents names and abode and father's occupation. Article in The Hampshire Family Historian, vol. XV,no.2. Aug. 1988, page 146. Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
|This section is empty. You can help by adding to it.|
References[edit | edit source]
- Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 596-602. Date accessed: 07 June 2013.