Precinct of St Katherine by Tower, Middlesex Genealogy
Guide to Precinct of St Katherine by Tower, Middlesex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
- 1 Parish History
- 2 Resources
- 3 Maps and Gazetteers
- 4 Websites
- 5 References
Parish History[edit | edit source]
The Precinct of St Katherine's-by-the-Tower incorporates most of the Tower of London, The Royal Hospital, its chapel (by that name), grounds and associated buildings.
The Tower of London was a clandestine place of marriage in early modern London.
The creation of St Katherine's Dock in 1825 drastically decreased the population of this area.
WHITECHAPEL, is a parish and a district in Middlesex. The district contains also East Smithfield liberties, and Tower-of-London, Old-Tower-Without, and St. Katharine-by-the-Tower precincts.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Church records[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records[edit | edit source]
1547 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- Tower Ward (The National Archives, Ref: E179/145/146), Copy: FHL Film 2228700.
1600 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- 1600 - Lay Subsidy Returns for London, Middlesex, Surrey (north) 1593-1600: St Katherynes, St Katherynes adhuc, and St Katherines adhuc (TNA E179/142/234) at Alan H. Nelson website - free
1620 Subsidy[edit | edit source]
- Ossulstone Hundred, Tower Division: The Tower Hamlets and Whitechapel (The National Archives, Ref: E179/142/254); transcript by Charles Edward Banks: FHL Film 1550095 item 20.
1666 Hearth Tax[edit | edit source]
1692-1932 Land Taxes[edit source]
1693-1694 Four Shilling in the Pound Aid[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Before 1858, Precinct of St Katherine by Tower fell under the jurisdiction of the Royal Peculiar Court of St Katherine's by the Tower. From 1858 to the present, refer to the Principal Probate Registry.
Go to London Probate Records to find the names of the courts having secondary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Cemetery[edit | edit source]
Manorial Records[edit | edit source]
Records survive for St Katherine by the Tower Manor (1779-1824). The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
(The London Family History Centre Catalogue is a terrific resource for identifying FamilySearch's London collections).
- London Family History Centre Catalogue
- Records of non-parochial Anglican churches and chapels, Anglican Churches, Chapels and Parishes, Guildhall Library Manuscripts Section.
- St Katherine by the Tower on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Else Churchill, "Stuck in London: resources at the SOG and elsewhere." Presentation, Society of Genealogists, 2011. Slides available online.
- J.B. Nichols, Account of the Royal Hospital and Collegiate Church of Saint Katharine, Near the Tower of London (London: John Nichols and Son, 1824). Digitized by Google Books.
- Cliff Webb, My Ancestors were Londoners: A Guide to London Sources for Family Historians (London: Society of Genealogists, 2009), 18.
- Frederic Simcox Lea, The Royal Hospital and Collegiate Church of Saint Katherine near the Tower in Its Relation to the East of London (London: Longmans, Green, and Co., 1878). Digitized by Google Books.
- John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Date accessed: 5 November 2013.
- Andrew Oliver, A List of Monumental Brasses in the City of London Churches (1891). Digitized by Internet Archive.