Preston Capes, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Preston Capes, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
| Preston Capes, Northamptonshire | |
|---|---|
| Type | England Jurisdictions |
| Civil Jurisdictions | |
| Hundred | Fawsley |
| County | Northamptonshire, England Genealogy |
| Poor Law Union | Daventry |
| Registration District | Daventry |
| Records begin | |
| Parish registers: 1614 | |
| Bishop's Transcripts: 1707 | |
| Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions | |
| Rural Deanery | Daventry |
| Diocese | Peterborough |
| Province | Canterbury |
| Legal Jurisdictions | |
| Probate Court | Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton |
| Location of Archive | |
| Northamptonshire Record Office | |
Contents
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PRESTON-CAPES (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Daventry, hundred of Fawsley, S. division of the county of Northampton, 5¾ miles (S.) from Daventry. [1]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Preston Capes, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
| AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3] | |||||
| AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3] |
| Preston Capes, Northamptonshire Genealogy Parish Online Records | ||||||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | Indexes | Images | |
| AC BTs | 1813-1877 | 1813-1877 | 1813-1877 | 1813-1877 | ||
| AC PRs | 1813-1908 | 1813-1908 | ||||
Marriages from 1630 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 27 November 2013.
- ↑ 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
- ↑ 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
