Preston next Faversham, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Preston next Faversham, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Preston next Faversham, Kent|
Preston next Faversham St Catherine Kent
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Faversham|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1563|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PRESTON (St. Catherine), a parish, in the union and hundred of Faversham, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E division of Kent, ½ a mile S from Faversham, and on the high road from Canterbury to Rochester. 
Preston is a district of the town and civil parish of Faversham in the Swale district of Kent, seeFaversham Wikipedia and St Catherine's Church Preston-next-Faversham Wikipedia
Preston next Faversham St Catherine is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you.
The church dates from the 12th century and the Norman church replaced a Saxon church on the site. The original Norman church remains were extended in the 13th century when John Peckham was Archbishop of Canterbury; further restoration and extension took place in later centuries notably the addition of the north aisle in 1867 and spire in the same year. A history of the church is also available at Church website
The church of St Catherine, St Catherine's Drive, Faversham has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building
see also St Catherine on Faversham website
Do not confuse with Preston next Wingham, Kent Genealogy in the same county.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council
Kent ME14 1XX
Telephone 08458 247 400
http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually.
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Preston next Faversham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|Preston next Faversham Online Parish Records|
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
- Images for Preston-next-Faversham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through Family History Center Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
- Introduction to Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
- Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- Canterbury England Family History Centre
- Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent
- Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent
- Family History Center Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 609-616. Date accessed: 27 April 2013.
- 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.