Preston next Wingham, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Preston next Wingham, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Preston next Wingham, Kent|
Preston (next Wingham) St Mildred Kent
|Poor Law Union||Eastry|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1566|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PRESTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Eastry, hundred of Preston, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent, 2 miles N from Wingham. 
Preston-next-Wingham is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Preston-next-Wingham Wikipedia
Preston next Wingham St Mildred is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary of Elmstone with Preston and Stourmouth parish is available at A church near you.
The church dates from the early 13th century and was extended in the fourteenth century; restored in 1857 by William White with the installation of dormer windows to replace and block the aisle windows.
The church is unusual in holding a parochial library dated from 1710 (Dr Bray's) "for the use of the Vicars of Preston". This is one of only 10 Parish libraries in the county and the only survivor in a parish.
See Edward Hasted 'The hundred of Preston: Introduction', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 131. Date accessed: 16 September 2013. at British History Online and The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 9 (1800), pp. 135-142 at British History Online and Kent Churches website
|This parish should not be confused with Preston next Faversham, Kent in the same county.|
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Preston next Wingham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = FindMyPast - (£)|
|Preston next Wingham Online Parish Records|
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
- Images for Preston next Wingham are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]
- FHC Portal This centre has access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access in the centre to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
- Publication of the restricted access images England, Kent, Wills and Probate - FamilySearch Historical Records and England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records means that it is advisable to telephone the centre to reserve a computer if you wish to view these
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 609-616. Date accessed: 27 April 2013.
- 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
- 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.