Prince Edward Island Compiled Genealogies

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Prince Edward Island Wiki Topics
Prince Edward Island Flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
Prince Edward Island Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources

A recent index to many published biographies, cemetery records, census records (through 1881), church records, directories, family histories, genealogies, immigration lists, local histories, Loyalist listings, marriage records, periodicals, probate records, and vital records in newspapers in Prince Edward Island is:

  • Elliot, Noel Montgomery, ed. The Atlantic Canadians, 1600–1900: An Alphabetized Directory of the People, Places, and Vital Dates. 3 vols. Toronto: Genealogical Research Library, 1994. (Family History Library book Ref area 971.5 D22a.) Indexes over 500,000 names from various sources for the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Labrador, and Prince Edward Island. Sources are listed at the end of each volume.

Master Name Index[edit | edit source]

Collecting Previous Research by Others Part Two: Online Family Tree Collections[edit | edit source]

For step-by-step instructions on searching several important compiled genealogy websites, see Collecting Previous Research by Others Part Two: Online Family Tree Collections.

Digitized Books[edit | edit source]

  • Local histories frequently include biographical sketches of early and prominent settlers. Many histories are no longer under copyright and can be found in the following online, digitized book collections. Search with keywords "History" and "the name of your locality" (state, county, or town).

FamilySearch Catalog[edit | edit source]

  • Surname or Keyword Search FamilySearch Catalog Family genealogies can be found listed by using the "Surname" search. For extremely common surnames, narrow down your search by using the surname and the location where the family lived in the "Keyword" search.