Pyecombe, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Pyecombe, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Cuckfield|
|Parish registers: 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
PIECOMBE, or Pycombe, (Church of the Transfiguration)an ancient parish, in the union of Cuckfield, hundred of Poynings, rape of Lewes, E. division of Sussex, 6 miles (N. N. W.) from Brighton. The parish lies wholly on the South Downs, including, at the northern extremity, the fort of Wolstonbury, from which the prospects are very extensive. The road from London to Brighton, by way of Hixted and Cuckfield, and the London and Brighton railway, both pass through the parish. The church is in the later English style.
The Parish church at Church Hill Pyecombe has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Cuckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Pyecombe, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Pyecombe, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Pyecombe The Transfiguration
West Sussex Record Office has deposited parish Registers Bap 1561-1895 Marr 1596-1998 Bur 1598-1999 Bishop's Transcripts 1606-1894
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Pyecombe
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 567-571. Date accessed: 30 September 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 2 January 2014.