To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Pytchley, Northamptonshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Pytchley, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Pytchley, Northamptonshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Orlingbury
County Northamptonshire
Poor Law Union Kettering
Registration District Kettering
Records begin
Parish registers: 1695
Bishop's Transcripts: 1706
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rothwell
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton
Location of Archive
Northamptonshire Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

PITCHLEY, or Pytchley (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Kettering, hundred of Orlingbury, N. division of the county of Northampton, 2¾ miles (S. by W.) from Kettering. There is a small place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Pytchley, Northamptonshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

AC BTs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
AC PRs = Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms (Ancestry) - £[2][3]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[6]
PYTCHLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC BTs 1813-1874 1813-1874 1813-1874 1813-1874
AC PRs 1813-1912 1813-1912 1813-1889 1813-1889
BOYD
1613-1812

FREG 1754-1874 1813-1889
PRTS
1613-1813

Marriages from 1697 to 1700 are indexed in Northamptonshire Marriage Index Pre-1700 (2nd ed.). FHL British CD-ROM no. 5489; publisher's bookstore.


Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]

Stentiford, Marjorie F.  Three Pioneer Sisters From Pytchley.  The three sisters  Charlotte, Caroline and Emma, daughters of Richard  and Mary Ann Dean, emigrated from Pytchley, with their families, to Adelaide, South Australia in 1838. Family names are Amy, Dean, Dainty, Langley, Lucas. The article is a recollection of stories of bygone days.  There is a photo of Charlotte Amey, and Caroline Langley, and one of Robert and Emma (nee Dean), Lucas.  Article is in Footprints, (Northamptonshire Family History Society Mag.) vol5.no.4, page 89-92, Family History Library Ref. 942.55 D25fo vol.5, no.4

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 17 November 2013.
  2. 2.0 2.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Baptisms, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  3. 3.0 3.1 'Northamptonshire, England, Burials, 1813-1912', Ancestry, accessed 5 March 2015.
  4. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
  5. 'Northamptonshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 29 November 2014.
  6. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.