Queensland, Australia Genealogy
Guide to Queensland, Australia ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Queensland Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Background Information[edit | edit source]
Queensland was originally settled by indigenous Australians and Torres Strait Islanders some 40,000 years ago and by Europeans in the 1820s as a convict settlement as the Moreton Bay District of the Colony of New South Wales.
Convict transportation ended in 1839 and free settlement permitted in 1842.
In 1859 Queensland was separated from New South Wales to form a self-governing British colony. On federation in 1901, Queensland became one of the six states of the Commonwealth of Australia.
The capital of Queensland is Brisbane.
Records before 1859 properly form part of series held by relevant authorities in New South Wales where they may be indexed under the term "Moreton Bay District". Queensland has made copies of many of these family history records and these may be searched along with post 1859 records.
Getting started with Queensland research[edit | edit source]
Numerous articles are available on FamilySearch Wiki to help you get started in family history. This portal will provide links to articles about general research topics.
- Identify What You Know
- Decide What You Want to Learn
- Select Records to Search
- Obtain and Search the Records
- Use the Information
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
- 1802-2005 - Australia Cemetery Inscriptions, 1802-2005 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1802-1990 - Australia, Queensland Cemetery Records, 1802-1990 at FamilySearch — index and images
Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
What is now the State of Queenslandwas formed on 1 January 1901 when the six British colonies federated to form the Commonwealth of Australia.
Before that, it had been the Colony of Queensland established on 6 June 1859 with responsible self-government. Prior to that, the territory had been part of the Colony of New South Wales.
Research Tools[edit | edit source]
- 1847 - 1989 - Australia Queensland Maryborough Public Records 1847-1989 at FamilySearch — index and images
Events[edit | edit source]
- National Family History Week July 31st to August 8th 2010