Rättvik Parish, Kopparberg, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Rättvik Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
History[edit | edit source]
Rättvik Municipality is a municipality in Dalarna County in central Sweden and its seat is located in the town of Rättvik.
On February 24, 1618 the parish of Boda was created from Rättvik parish. In 1963 the municipality was reunited with Boda, which had been detached from it in 1875, and in 1974 Ore was added, thus forming the present municipality.
|Rättvik Parish, Kopparberg, Sweden Genealogy|
|Pastorat||-1918 Rättvik, 1918- Rättvik and Bingsjö-Dådran|
|Län||1631-1640 Kopparberg, 1641-1646 Säter, 1647- Kopparberg|
|Tingslag||-1779 Rättvik (first half of 1779), 1779-1893 Rättvik and Ore, 1894-1947 Rättvik, 1948-1970 Nedansiljans domsaga|
|Domsaga||1687-1875 Östra, later called Österdalarne, 1876-1974 Nedansiljan, 1975- Leksand|
|Fögderi||1720-1966 Nedansiljan, 1967- Falun|
|Militär indelning||Dal-regementet: Mora and Rättviks Kompanier, Extra Soldat-Roteringen, Dalregementet: Mora och Rättviks kompanier|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/ULA/11284|
|National Archive SVAR||link|
|SCB Congregation map||link|
|Open Street map||link|
Place Names[edit | edit source]
Backa, Blecket, Born, Bäck
Glistjerna, Glistjärna, Granmohr, Gärdebyn,
Lerdahl, Lerdal, Lisselskog, Lugnet
Nedra Gärdsjö, Nittsjö, Nygård,
Rofgärdet, Rofsgärdet, Röjeråsen
Scholgården, Sjurberg, Stumsnäs, Sätra, Söderås
Tammeråsen, Tina, Tingshuset,
Vikarbyn, Västberg, Västergraf, Västgärde,
Westberg, Westergraf, Westgärdet, Westerbjörkan, Wikarbyn,
Öfra Gärdsjö, Öja, Österbjörka, Österbjörkan, Östergraf
To see what kind of place it is you will need a Swedish Gazetteer.
- Surrounding Parishes
Collections[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1840-1947, ($), index and images. Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Kopparberg Church Records, 1604-1900; index 1628-1860 at FamilySearch.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]
Click Sweden, Kopparberg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Kopparberg and then select your parish.
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Related Sources[edit | edit source]
Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]
- You do not have to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! They have a limited vocabulary: mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. The rest of the content will be names, dates, and places, which do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]
- Reading Gothic Handwriting for Swedish Genealogy, Lesson 1
- Spelling and Phonetics for Swedish Genealogy, Lesson 2 — Names, dates, and key genealogical words
- Reading Gothic Handwriting for Swedish Genealogy: Put It All Together, Lesson 3
- Birth and Christening Records for Swedish Genealogy
- Scandinavian Handwriting
- Scandinavian Handwriting, part 3 - No part 2 available
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
Rättvik parish, Husförhörslängd 1847-1857, AI;12a, Ort register.
Rättvik parish, Husförhörslängd AI:11a-c (1837-1846) Ortregister
Riksarkivet. "Rättvik Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/