Radnorshire Archives and Libraries

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Radnorshire Wiki Topics
Radnorshire flag.JPG
Beginning Research
Record Types
Wales Background
Local Research Resources

For a list of archives and libraries on the national level, go to the Wales Archives and Libraries page.

Record Office[edit | edit source]

Montgomeryshire Record Office
Powys Archives
Unit 29
Ddole Road Enterprise Park
Llandrindod Wells, Powys LD1 6DF UK
Telephone: 01597 826088
Email: archives@powys.gov.uk
Website: Montgomeryshire Record Office
Website #2: Powys Archives

Montgomeryshire Record Office is situated in Llandrindod Wells. Powys was created in 1974 from Montgomeryshire, Radnorshire and Breconshire and became a unitary county in 1996. They hold resources relating to this area. Dating from the fourteenth century, these resources cover many different topics, so are useful to anyone interested in conducting research of any type.

Libraries[edit | edit source]

Knighton Library
Knighton Library and Community Hub
Bowling Green
Knighton LD7 1DR UK
Telephone: 01547 528778
Email: knighton.library@powys.gov.uk
Website: Knighton Library

Llandrindod Wells Library
Cefnllys Ln
Llandrindod Wells LD1 5LD UK
Telephone: 01597 826870
Email: llandrindod.library@powys.gov.uk
Website: Llandrindod Wells Library

Presteigne Library
Market Hall
Presteigne LD8 2AD UK
Telephone: 01544 260552
Email: presteigne.library@powys.gov.uk
Website: Presteigne Library

The Radnorshire Society Archive and Library
Dolmynach House
Bridge St
Rhayader LD6 5AG UK
Email: brianm870307@gmail.com
Website: The Radnorshire Society Archive and Library

Rhayader Library
West Street
Rhayader LD6 5AB UK
Telephone: 01597 810548
Email: rhayader.library@powys.gov.uk
Website: Rhayader Library

Museums[edit | edit source]

The Radnorshire Museum
Temple Street
Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DL UK
Telephone: 01597 824513
Email: radmus@powys.gov.uk
Website: Radnorshire Museum
Website #2: The Radnorshire Museum

The museum’s collection covers archaeology, geology, palaeontology, fine art, and social history, telling the county's story from prehistoric times onwards. Its exhibits include a carved stone sheela-na-gig (a pre-Norman fertility symbol) discovered during renovation at the Old Parish Church. It has a permanent display about the Victorian diarist Francis Kilvert.

Rhayader Museum and Gallery (Amgueddfa ac Oriel Rhaeadr Gwy)
East Street
Rhayader LL6 5ER UK
Telephone: 01597 810561
Email: museum@carad.org.uk
Website: Rhayader Museum and Gallery
Website #2: Rhayader Museum and Gallery

Rhayader Museum and Gallery has been described as a little gem. There is a strong focus on the history of the local area, including the Cambrian Mountains and the Elan Valley.

Archives[edit | edit source]

Herefordshire Archive and Records Centre
Fir Tree Lane
Rotherwas
Hereford, Herefordshire, England HR2 6LA UK
Telephone: 01432 260750
Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk
Website: Herefordshire Archive and Records Centre

Hereford Archive Services holds Hereford diocesan and parish records (bishops' transcripts, probate and tithe records and parish registers) for various parishes on the Radnorshire/Herefordshire border.

Powys Archives
Unit 29
Ddole Road Enterprise Park
Llandrindod Wells, Powys LD1 6DF UK
Telephone: 01597 826088
Email: archives@powys.gov.uk
Website: Powys Archives

The Powys County Archives Office serves as the official repository for the records of the current county of Powys (established in 1974) and the three incorporated former counties of Breconshire, Montgomeryshire, and Radnorshire.