Ramsey County, Minnesota Genealogy
Guide to Ramsey County, Minnesota ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Ramsey County, Minnesota|
Location in the state of Minnesota, United States Genealogy
Location of Minnesota in the U.S.
|Founded||October 27, 1849|
|County Seat||St. Paul|
|Address||Ramsey County Courthouse|
15 Kellogg Blvd W
St. Paul, MN 55102
Ramsey County Website
- 1 County Information
- 2 County Courthouse
- 3 History
- 4 Places/Localities
- 5 Resources
- 5.1 Cemeteries
- 5.2 Census
- 5.3 Church
- 5.4 Court
- 5.5 Emigration and Immigration
- 5.6 Directories
- 5.7 Genealogy From Periodicals
- 5.8 Land
- 5.9 Local Histories
- 5.10 Maps
- 5.11 Military
- 5.12 Naturalization and Citizenship
- 5.13 Newspapers
- 5.14 Obituaries
- 5.15 Probate
- 5.16 Taxation
- 5.17 Vital Records
- 6 Societies and Libraries
- 7 Websites
- 8 References
County Information[edit | edit source]
Description[edit | edit source]
The County was named for Alexander Ramsey (W), the first governor of the Minnesota Territory. The County is located in the east-central area of the state.
Ramsey County, Minnesota Record Dates[edit | edit source]
County Courthouse[edit | edit source]
Clerk District Court has birth and death records from 1870,
marriage records from 1850,
divorce and court records from 1900
and probate records from 1849.
Historical Society has court records
1858-1899 and land records. 
History[edit | edit source]
Parent County[edit | edit source]
1849--Ramsey County was created 27 October 1849 from old St. Croix County in Wisconsin Territory.
County seat: St. Paul 
- For a brief history of how Ramsey County was named, click here, then select Ramsey County.
Boundary Changes[edit | edit source]
Record Loss[edit | edit source]
There is no known history of courthouse disasters in this county.
Places/Localities[edit | edit source]
Populated Places[edit | edit source]
For a complete list of populated places, including small neighborhoods and suburbs, visit HomeTown Locator. The following are the most historically and genealogically relevant populated places in this county:
Neighboring Counties[edit | edit source]
Resources[edit | edit source]
Cemeteries[edit | edit source]
|Tombstone Transcriptions Online||Tombstone Transcriptions in Print||List of Cemeteries in the county|
|Findagrave.com||Family History Library||Findagrave.com|
|MNGenWeb Archives||WorldCat||Billion Graves|
|Tombstone Project||FamilySearch Places|
|See Minnesota Cemeteries for more information.|
Census[edit | edit source]
- 1865 - Minnesota State Census, 1865 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1885 - Minnesota State Census, 1885 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1905 - Minnesota State Census, 1905 at FamilySearch — index and images
Church[edit | edit source]
Most church records are held by individual churches. Some denominations are gathering their records into a central repository. For more information, see Minnesota Church Records.
The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints[edit | edit source]
Ward and Branch Records
- St. Paul
Lutheran[edit | edit source]
- Records of the American Lutheran Church, St. Paul, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
St. Mathew's Lutheran Church
- Records of the St. Mathew's Lutheran Church, Ramsey County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
List of Churches and Church Parishes
Court[edit | edit source]
Emigration and Immigration[edit | edit source]
Directories[edit | edit source]
- Fold3.com ($) has St. Paul City Directories 1863-1924 (4 yrs. missing) available online.
- St. Paul City Directories 1856 - 1922 Free
Genealogy From Periodicals[edit | edit source]
- Jones, Andrew Forsyth. The French Family of Sunderland and the USA. History of the family of Joseph and Mary Ann French with description of their son Joseph French born 1847, Gateshead, and his wife Frances Ann Samuel, born Sunderland, July 1846. Photo included on their golden wedding. The family of Joseph and Frances and all but one of their children emigrate to USA in 1887, and settle in St Paul, Minnesota, and after 5 years move onto San Francisco. Photo of Andrew Forsyth, and Elizabeth nee French in 1903. Other surnames mentioned: Bennett, Forsyth, Douce, Winks, Lundgren. Article dated 1846-1954, and is found in the Northumberland & Durham Family History Society Journal. vol. 32,no.2pages 48-49. Family History Library Ref. 942.8 B2jo vol. 32.no.2.(summer 2007)
Land[edit | edit source]
The county register of deeds keeps land records once the land was transferred to private ownership. Abstracts and indexes for these records are generally available at the county courthouse.
Land records for Minnesota are listed in the Place Search of the FamilySearch Catalog under:
MINNESOTA, Ramsey – LAND AND PROPERTY
Local Histories[edit | edit source]
Local histories are available for Ramsey County, Minnesota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Minnesota Local Histories.
Maps[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
Civil War[edit | edit source]
Civil War service men from Ramsey County served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are many companies or regiments that were formed from men of Ramsey County.
- - 1st Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry (Mounted Rangers), Company G.
- - 1st Battalion, Minnesota Infantry Volunteers, Company A.
- - 1st Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A and F.
- - 1st Regiment, Minnesota Heavy Artillery, Companies G and H.
- - 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies B, D, F, G, H, I and K.
- - 2nd Regiment, Minnesota Cavalry, Company A.
- - 3rd Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company B.
- - 4th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies E, G, and K.
- - 5th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies D, E, F, and I.
- - 6th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies A and G.
- - 7th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Company H.
- - 8th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies H and K.
- - 10th Regiment, Minnesota Infantry, Companies H and K.
- - Brackett's Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies A and C.
- - Hatch's Independent Battalion, Minnesota Cavalry, Companies A and D.
- - 2nd Minnesota Company Sharpshooters, Second Company only.
World War II[edit | edit source]
- 1940-1945 - Minnesota, World War II Draft Registration Cards,1940-1947 at FamilySearch — index and images
Naturalization and Citizenship[edit | edit source]
- 1872-1962 - Minnesota Naturalization Records and Indexes, 1872-1962 at FamilySearch — index
Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Ramsey County, Minnesota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
- Daily Globe (Saint Paul, Minn.) – 1880-1884
- St. Paul Daily Globe (Saint Paul, Minn.) – 1884-1896
- The Saint Paul Globe (Saint Paul, Minn.) – 1896-1905
- The appeal . : (Saint Paul, Minn. ;) 1889-19?? African-American newspaper. More than 1,500 issues between 1889 and 1922 have been digitized and are fully searchable on-line at the Library of Congress, Chronicling America website.
Obituaries[edit | edit source]
Probate[edit | edit source]
Probate records may include wills, bonds, petitions, accounts, inventories, administrations, orders, decrees, and distributions. They may include the decedent’s date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, etc. See Minnesota Probate Records for additional information. Online Probate Indexes and Records
Taxation[edit | edit source]
Since Minnesota tax records include only persons who owned taxable property, many residents were not included. Still they complement land records and can be used in place of missing censuses or the years between censuses. There may also be gaps. For more information, see the wiki page Minnesota Taxation.
Vital Records[edit | edit source]
A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Vital Records, or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred. See also Minnesota Vital Records.
Birth[edit | edit source]
- 1900-1934 Minnesota, Birth Index, 1900-1934 at MyHeritage($) — index
- 1900-1934 Minnesota Births, 1900-1934 at Minnesota Historical Society - free index, images ($)
Marriage[edit | edit source]
- 1850-2019 WEB: Minnesota, Marriages from the Minnesota Official Marriage System, 1850-2019 at Ancestry($) — index
- 1860 - 1949 Minnesota, County Marriages, 1860-1949 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1976-2003 Minnesota, Marriages, 1976-2003 at MyHeritage($) — index
Death[edit | edit source]
- 1850-2001 - Minnesota, County Deaths, 1850-2001 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1887-2001 - Minnesota Deaths, 1887-2001 at FamilySearch — index and images
- 1904-2001 Minnesota, Death Index, 1904-2001 at MyHeritage($) — index
- 1904-2001 Minnesota Deaths, 1904-2001 at Minnesota Historical Society - free index, images ($)
Societies and Libraries[edit | edit source]
1485 E 7th Street
St. Paul 55106
Ramsey County Historical Society
323 Landmark Center
75 West Fifth Street
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55102
Little Canada Historical Society
515 Little Canada Rd E
Little Canada MN 55117-1633
Family History Centers[edit | edit source]
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance, free access to center-only databases, and to premium genealogical websites.
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries have access to most center-only databases, but may not always have full services normally provided by a family history center.
Local Centers and Affiliate Libraries
FamilySearch Affiliate Libraries[edit | edit source]Minnesota Historical Society
345 Kellogg Blvd West
St Paul, MN 55102
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Ramsey County, MN Genealogy Forum (GenForum)
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Ramsey County Genealogy (Minnesota Genealogy)
References[edit | edit source]
- Wikipedia contributors, "Ramsey County, Minnesota" in https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ramsey_County,_Minnesota accessed 14 Nov 2018
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ramsey County, Minnesota. Page 362-370 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002; Alice Eichholz, ed. Ancestry’s Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources, Third ed. (Provo, Utah: Ancestry, 2004), 362-365.
- Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Ramsey County, Minnesota page 367, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- Wikipedia contributors, "Ramsey County, Minnesota," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ramsey_County,_Minnesota, accessed 17 February 2020.