To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Ramsgate Holy Trinity, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Ramsgate Holy Trinity

Guide to Ramsgate Holy Trinity, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ramsgate Holy Trinity, Kent
Ramsgate Holy Trinity contributor Pam Fray.jpg
Ramsgate Holy Trinity contributor Pam Fray
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Ringslow or Isle of Thanet
County Kent
Poor Law Union Thanet
Registration District Thanet
Records begin
Parish registers: None
Bishop's Transcripts: 1875
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Westbere
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

Ramsgate Holy Trinity is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the Westbere deanery of the Diocese of Canterbury in the county of Kent, created in 1845 from St Laurence in Thanet, Kent Ancient Parish.

Ramsgate began as a fishing and farming hamlet. Ramsgate as a name has its earliest reference as Hraefn's gate, or cliff gap, later to be rendered 'Ramisgate' or 'Remmesgate' around 1225 and 'Ramesgate' from 1357. The legendary mercenaries Hengist and Horsa landed in the 5th century to herald the pagan Anglo-Saxon age in England. The Christian missionary St. Augustine landed in Ramsgate in 597 which re-established the link between England and the Christian church in Rome.

See Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Ramsgate Holy Trinity parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[1][2][3]
Ramsgate Holy Trinity Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1845-1912 1845-1912 1864-1912; 1864-1890 (Banns) 1864-1912; 1864-1890 (Banns)

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Parish registers for Holy Trinity Church, Ramsgate, 1845-1951 Microfilm of original records in possession of Canterbury Cathedral Archives no.: U3/223/1/1-4, 6-9, D4.

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1845-1912.
FHL BRITISH Film
1836032 Items 21 - 23
Marriages, 1864-1912. Banns, 1864-1890.
FHL BRITISH Film
1836033 Items 1 - 2
Baptisms, 1912-1930. Marriages, 1912-1951.
FHL BRITISH Film
2354703 Items 2 - 5

Bishop's transcripts for Holy Trinity Church, Ramsgate, 1875-1913 Microreproduction of original records housed at the Canterbury Cathedral Archives no.: DCb/BT2/242

Content
Film
Baptisms, 1875-1880, 1882-1883, 1887-1893 1898-1899, 1902-1913.
FHL BRITISH Film
1835586 Item 2

Known Issues[edit | edit source]

England Vital Records Index (FamilySearch Historical Records) known issue England Easy collection Indexing Project Batch 100354-3 Incorrect parish names entered also affects Swingfield, Kent, Ripple, Kent, Westbere, Kent Error caused by incorrect place data entry field for four parishes in items on same film FHL BRITISH Film 1836032.

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Ramsgate 1841-1891

Census returns for St. Peters-Ramsgate, 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.